Sleep, baby, sleep

I have been a mommy for almost 2 years now and I have to admit, I still have no idea what I am doing half of the time. When my daughter was born, I felt ill prepared. No amount of advice or books could have prepared me for motherhood. I remember being mad at my friends for not giving me a better heads up on how hard it was. I Googled everything. I think at one point I even Googled ‘How to be a mother’. I was and still am a paranoid mommy. Every little sniffle or sigh sends me into a worried frenzy. So the past couple of days at home have been no treat. My little one has been sick for the past two days and this morning I woke up to find myself sick too. Lucky for me, my mother-in-law is a bona fide angel and babysat both mommy and baby today. The evenings have been rough, though. My daughter is so congested she can’t breath when she sleeps, so it has made for a few restless evenings. At her young age, she can’t take any medicine so I have been looking into home remedies…enter again Google & Pinterest. I want to know if the person who recommended saline spray and a bulb syringe ever actually tried performing this act on a toddler. Fail! We did the soup, we have tried the honey. Her feet are slathered in Vicks & the vaporizer is on full blast in her bedroom. What else is a tired mommy to do to get her sick little pumpkin to sleep?

Here is a list of the top ten home remedies for toddlers according to http://www.searchherbalremedy.com

1.Steam inhalation

2.Soup

3.Vitamin C

4.Herbal teas

5.Salt Water Solution

6.Ginger

7.Garlic

8.Honey

9.Eucalyptus Oil

10.Natural Vapor Rubs

The Vapor rubs & the vaporizer have worked in easing some of her cold symptoms but so far, hugs, kisses & cuddles have been the best medicine for both mommy & baby.

If anyone else has any helpful hints to share, please do.

 

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sleep, baby, sleep

  1. Mitzi says:

    I always used the bulb syringe from the hospital – it’s the only thing that works. Those ones you suck on one end like a straw, I swear I got sick from doing it that way.

    • pfchico says:

      Thank you for your tip. Unfortunately, the bulb syringe does not work on my feisty little monkey. She won’t let us anywhere near her nose. I never saw the ones that you had to suck on. I am pretty sure I would get sick from that too. Lol!

Leave a Reply

