Extreme pumpkin carving experiment

Every Halloween, like many people, I carve a Jack-o-lantern. I carve out the usual plain old Jack-o-lantern with the triangle eyes and nose and am perfectly content with it.

I have seen many photos of pumpkin sculptures and was often amazed at the talent these artists displayed. The artist in me has always been curious but not enough to attempt it until now…

I came across this video on Pinterest & it inspired me to try it, since they just make it look soooooo easy.

Warning!! When they tell you to wear gloves, wear them. I started with bare hands. Pumpkin juice is highly acidic and eats away at your finger tips. Also, be careful using your carving tools. I used a paring knife to carve the majority of my pumpkin and knicked myself quite a few times. Use caution.

002
005
012
014

Finished product..
It was definitely not as easy as the professionals make it look in the video but it was fun to do.
I look forward to trying again next Halloween.
019

And a more kid friendly carving on the other side of the pumpkin for my little pumpkin…
006

 

Just as an added bonus. I found this painted pumpkin at a state fair about a month ago. I thought it was so beautiful.
003
Up next… Enchilada spaghetti

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

