Healthy Crock Pot Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

First off, I have to send out a very special birthday wish to my wonderful husband, Chris. He reads all of my posts, bless his heart, so I know that he will see this. In honor of the day my handsome hubby was born, I made a special breakfast.

Today’s Pinspiration…

Crock pot Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Seriously folks, it does not get much easier than this. I worked all night & got home at around 10 pm. I started making this at 10:05. I sliced up a couple apples, tossed in the three other ingredients, set the crock pot and was relaxing comfortably in front of the computer by 10:15. Ahhhh.. that is my kind of cooking.

Peel and slice 2 medium sized apples

004

Add the apples, 1/3 cup of brown sugar (For a sweeter oatmeal use 1/2 cup) & 1tsp of cinnamon to the bottom of the crock pot. Pour 2 cups of oats and 4 cups of water over the top. DO NOT STIR!

001005

Cook overnight for 8-9 hours on low. Warning! If you have a more powerful crockpot, you may need to cut your cook time.

007

Slice apple to garnish and serve.

014

As I said before this was a quick and easy meal to prepare, but how did it rate with my finicky crew?
The verdict…
100MEDIA36IMAG0545

Yum! It looks like someone likes it. What about the birthday boy? Well, while mommy and Mai liked it, daddy was not quite as excited about it. He said it was tasty but he is more of a meat and potatoes kind of guy. Maybe if I put bacon in it. Hmmmm. There is an idea for next time.

I would definitely make this again. It was a quick,easy, delicious, hot, healthy breakfast, perfect for a crisp fall day like today.

Up next…hallway sheet forts

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthy Crock Pot Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

  1. pfchico says:

    Can someone tell me why my featured image isn’t showing in this post and how I could fix it?

Leave a Reply

