Hallway Sheet Fort

Hallway Sheet Fort

My daughter, Mai is almost 22 months. She is at that age now that I can barely leave her alone for a second. She is forever getting into mischief as soon as mommy walks out of the room.
The other day, I went into the kitchen to rinse out one of her sippy cups, when I came back into the living room, she was standing on top of the coffee table.
This makes it difficult to get much else done when I have to have one eye on her at all times. This is especially challenging at meal time. I try all the old tricks. I let her pull out the pots and pans & play with the measuring scoops but she quickly loses interest and heads back to play elsewhere.

I saw an idea for a hallway fort. I thought this would be perfect. I loved sheet forts when I was a little girl and since Mai is now at that age where she likes hiding behind curtains and blankets, I thought she might have fun with this one. We have a long hall way that is connected to the kitchen. This would an optimum spot for her to play as I can see all her goings on.

Here is today’s inspiring pin…
Hallway Sheet Fort

There was no link attached to this pin, so I had to wing it but it was simple enough to`try figure out.

What you will need…

An old sheet

Scissors

Fabric marker or paint

2-4 Tension rods

Felt

Glue gun

A hallway

Scout out a spot in your hallway for where you would like to hang your fort. Hang your tension rods and hang the blank sheet across the rods. Adjust your rods and sheet until you achieve the desired size and shape for your fort. Mark the sheet where it meets with the front tension rod. This way, you will know how much workable area you have for designing the front of the fort.

Lay your sheet down on a flat surface to begin the artwork for the front of your fort.

I started by cutting out the door.
193

To achieve the brick look around the door. I cut rectangular felt pieces and used fabric marker color in the spaces between the brick.
194
195196

I made the grass in a similar fashion using green felt. And placed the felt pieces on either side of the door.

I wanted a stain glass window for my fort. I traced out the panes of the window on a white piece of felt and using fabric markers outlined the inside of the top panes with different shapes and then colored them in using different colored markers.
198

I then drew in the outline for the awning, then drew and colored the flowers and light. Make your fort your own. The example from Pinterest included a mailbox, you can add flower boxes, shutters, house #’s, pets, etc…Have fun with it. It is a fun project.

Drape your finished product over the tension rods and voila…
206

You can also choose to sew tension rods into the top and bottom of your fort. This will create a more stable fort.

Tonight’s verdict…

211

She was curious at first. She walked in and out of it, pointing and showing me the flowers and grass. This was short lived. Even when I added toys & other activities to her play hall she quickly lost interest and proceeded to mommy’s collection of muffin pans.

Muffin tins and alphabet magnets it is.
224

So unfortunately this was a fail for miss Mai but I had fun making it and still think it is a cute idea. I will fold this up for when she is a little older and try again.

Up next…Lazy Mom’s stuffed Peppers

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hallway Sheet Fort

  1. Average But Inspired says:

    That is too adorable! I’m sorry she wasn’t overly interested in it today, but I’m sure that when she’s a little older she will love love love it. My daughter went through a phase around that age where her little play house was her favorite thing ever. Great work!

  2. pfchico says:

    Thank you! That is what I am hoping for. It was a fun project either way.

Leave a Reply

