Christmas Card Photo Shoot Ideas

befunky_artwork.jpg

If you have been to the supermarket, the mall or any retail stores for that matter, you can see that everyone is already gearing up for Christmas. The holidays are just 7 weeks away. That means it is just about time to start your Christmas shopping, planning your holiday menus, getting up those Christmas decorations and sending out your Christmas cards. I have always loved Christmas cards. There is something exciting about getting those card envelopes in the mail. I string them up and display them all proudly on our mantle. I love sending them too. Last year, I was excited to send out our Christmas cards featuring miss Mai, that was until I tried photographing her.
I had it all planned out in my head. It was going to be perfect. We bought her an adorable Santa dress. I wrapped a bunch of fake presents, put up a back drop and even bought a bow for our furry baby. It did not quite go as I had planned.
Luckily, I did manage to get in at least one good shot of my darling girl. Here is last year’s Christmas card photo…fa698f9d2aa78ae01b05a86fd22c7574

This year I knew was going to be a challenge. My daughter is very active and is closing in on her terrible 2’s. I wasn’t quite sure how I wanted to approach this, so I scanned my Pinterest pages and found some wonderful ideas but what really caught my eye was a Christmas present wreath.

I thought, how cute would it be if I could make a giant present wreath and use it as a prop for Mai.

I used some old boxes and a few new ones in assorted sizes. I sealed the boxes with a glue gun and cut off any overlapping edges. I wrapped each present and used glue under the wrapping paper to secure it in place. (This is important otherwise the paper will tear when adhering to the rest of the project.) You could also paint the boxes, but I like the look of wrapping paper. I laid out the boxes in the order  to form the shape of a wreath. I then, chose the side that looked nicest for the front of the wreath. I laid the project front side down & glued the edges of the presents where the corners met, then filled in the cracks with additional glue. I used the hot glue and secured a wreath backing to to the backside & let it dry. Once it was dry, I flipped it over and attached the bow & voila… A perfect Christmas photo prop.

057 058

Mai had fun with this photo shoot. She enjoyed climbing in and out of the wreath and sitting on the boxes. While it was difficult snapping a photo of her staying still, at least she always had a smile.

065 068 074 076 BeFunky_077.jpg

Up next…Greek Nachos

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Christmas Card Photo Shoot Ideas

  1. jo-anne says:

    Ooohh…These photos looks so cute! Fantastic ideas for our Christmas portait.

  2. pfchico says:

    Thank you, so much. I hope you have as much fun with your holiday portraits as we did with ours.

  3. Really like the present wreath! Cute 🙂

  4. runsaltrun says:

    These are adorable! She is so cute and I think your cards are going to look great! (Last year’s photo was adorable too!) I am so late to the game on Pinterest, but I have been finding so many great ideas for things on there lately. What a great resource for Christmas pic ideas!

  5. Pingback: DIY Christmas Card Display | The Pinterested Parent

Leave a Reply

