Blue Cheese & Cranberry Stuffed Pork Chops

018
I love potatoes. I always have. I love them baked, fried, scalloped, mashed & …possibly smashed? Today’s post and last night’s supper was all built around my daily Pinspiration, smashed potatoes. I have been dying to try this recipe for sometime…

SMASHED POTATOES

2 lbs Yukon Gold potatoes
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon coarse salt
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 cup fresh parsley, minced (about 1/4 cup once minced)
Zest from 1 lemon
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
Directions:
Wash and scrub the potatoes clean. Cut off any “eyes” or other undesirable spots. Place in a large pot and cover with water, bringing the water about 1 inch above the potatoes. Bring to a boil. Simmer the potatoes until fork tender, about 15-20 minutes, depending on the size of your potatoes.
While the potatoes are simmering, preheat your oven to 400° F (205° C).
Drain the potatoes and dry them on a clean kitchen towel. Drizzle a bit of olive oil on a rimmed baking sheet. Place the potatoes on the prepared baking sheet (in a single layer) and gently “smash” each potato with the flat side of a meat tenderizer. Potatoes should be about ½ to ¾-inch thick. Drizzle more olive oil over the potatoes and sprinkle with coarse salt.
Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes, flip the potatoes and cook for an additional 15 minutes.
While the potatoes are cooking, mix together the parmesan gremolata: in a small bowl combine the garlic, lemon, parsley and parmesan cheese. Once the potatoes are done cooking, toss with the gremolata. Serve hot.

Alas, due to a cranky toddler and a lack of extra hands and arms, I had an unforeseen fail with my potato recipe. I was disappointed but smashed potatoes would have to wait for a different evening. Luckily the accompanying parts of our meal did not meet the same sad fate.

The main course was still served…

This is a quick, easy & delicious recipe

BLUE CHEESE & CRANBERRY STUFFED PORK CHOPS

Ingredients

3 boneless pork loin chops
1 cup of blue cheese crumbles
1 cup of dried cranberries
2 Tbsp skim milk
1 Tbsp of low fat butter
Garlic salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400

In a small sauce pan, melt butter. Add milk, blue cheese & cranberries on medium low. Stir until blue cheese softens and takes on a creamy appearance (about a minute or 2)

008

Slit horizontally into the pork chop from the fat side.

009

Stuff pork chops with mixture and press at the opening to seal shut. Use a toothpick if needed. Sprinkle the top of the meat with garlic salt and pepper to taste.

011

Bake for 20-30 minutes (cook time will vary depending on thickness of meat)

Let cool and serve

018

For dessert, I went with a simple low fat option.

RASPBERRY CHEESECAKE PUDDING PARFAIT

Ingredients

Packaged fat free cheesecake pudding

Graham cracker crumbs

Raspberries (fresh or frozen)

Fat free Cool Whip

Make pudding according to package directions & set aside. In a glass, start with a layer of graham cracker crumbs, then top with pudding, a layer of raspberries & cool whip. Sprinkle more graham cracker crumbs over the top & top with a raspberry garnish. Quick, easy & delicious low fat dessert.

013

Up next…What’s Your Favorite Children’s Book?

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blue Cheese & Cranberry Stuffed Pork Chops

  1. that looks amazing! drooling over here

  2. Tory Blum says:

    I also love potatoes and I’m a massive fan for cranberries! Sounds yummy, and you were really detailed with all the instructions.. I have to give this recipe a go :))

  3. This is heaven for a foodie like me! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  4. Jhanis says:

    Thanks for sharing your recipes! I have not tried any of the dishes mentioned and I am excited to try making them at home!

  5. jamdaquio says:

    These food all look sumptuous even if homemade. I hope the other ingredients are present here in our country so that I can make like that one too.

  6. Franc Ramon says:

    I like this one especially the blue cheese cranberry flavor is in the middle of the chop.

  7. pfchico says:

    Thanks, the blue cheese & cranberry combo is wonderful. You should definitely give it a try.

Leave a Reply

