Shepherd’s Pie Meatloaf Muffins & Chickpea Fries

Ā BeFunky_008 (2).jpg

If you read my last food post, you already know that I am pro potato. I hope my old friend the potato knows that this is in no way an insult to him, as he is a delicious and healthy food that I love. Replacing the potato with the chickpea was simply just curiosity. When my husband came across this recipe, it piqued my interest. We both love chickpeas and things made from them. My husband makes his own hummus & I like just roasting them and eating them as a snack.

Why not give chickpea fries a try?

Ingredients

4 cups water
2 cups chickpea flourĀ – I made my own by buying fresh chickpeas & grinding them in a Magic Bullet. You can you a food processor as well.
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon cumin (optional)

1. Mix chickpea powder & cumin.

003

2.Place the water in a pot with the salt and bring to a boil. Remove pot from heat & pour into the water and whisk vigorously until all of the water is absorbed and there are no lumps, about 2-3 minutes. You are looking for the consistency of polenta.

005

3. Line a baking sheet with wax paper. Pour the chickpea mixture onto the baking sheet and spread evenly. Set aside to firm for about 30 minutes.

006

4. After thirty minutes, take a knife and gently cut the mixture into rectangular pieces. Use your judgement as to the size.

016

5. Put fries on a greased baking sheet & bake at 450 for about 45 minutes or until desired crispiness.

018

Serve with low fat ranch dressing. These are easier to make than they sound. They were actually pretty simple. If you like chickpeas, you should like these.

To accompany our lonely chickpea fries. I pulled back out my old friend the potato.

My daughter loves ground turkey. It is the one consistent thing in her diet but if I try to add a vegetable to her plate or a starch, she will toss it right over the edge of her high chair. I have gotten in the habit of mixing peas or spinach into turkey burgers & hiding carrots in the meatloaf.

I love making shepherd’s pie but this is another recipe that Mai will not try. I thought I could try mixing the ingredients of a shepherd’s pie into the ground turkey and making her little meatloaf muffins, so that is what I did.

What you will need…

1 to 1 1/2 lbs of ground turkey

1 8.25 oz can of creamed corn

1 cup of mashed potatoes (good way to get rid of leftovers)

1/2 cup bbq sauce

1/2 tsp of minced garlic

1 tsp garlic salt

1 tsp worchester sauce

salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375. Mix meat, mashed potatoes, garlic salt & minced garlic with your hands until potato is well blended in meat mixture.

010

Add the corn, bbq sauce, worchester sauce & cheese and mix with hands until ingredients are evenly distributed.

011

Spray the bottom of a muffin pan with cooking spray & scoop mixture into muffin pan

014

Bake at 375 for 35-40 minutes or until center is fully cooked. This may vary depending on oven.

Sprinkle with extra cheese if you desire & let cool before serving.

019

And the verdict is in…

035

Mai found an interesting way to display her chickpea fries. She requested bbq sauce for dipping and ate a bit more sauce than chickpeas.

The shepherd’s pie meatloaf muffins however were a big hit & she even asked for more.

042

Eat up, baby girl!

Up next…Mommy & Me Thanksgiving Crafts

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Shepherd’s Pie Meatloaf Muffins & Chickpea Fries

  1. Thanks for the recipe! It looks fantastic. Can’t wait to give it a whirl šŸ™‚

  2. Hi. I hope it is okay I nominated your blog for the Liebster Award. http://wp.me/p3YISp-yi

  3. Raluca L.C. says:

    Keep those recipes coming sister, they are very useful. I can’t wait for those for Thanksgiving!
    Hugs,
    Rally!

  4. Hi! We came across your blog via Food and Everything Else. Congratulations on your nomination, well deserved! We shall follow you from now on. Great content and we are kind addicted to Pintrest too!

  5. pfchico says:

    Thank you Blokes. Pinterest is wonderful. Thank you for stopping by..come and visit again.

  6. It really looks so yummy!! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

