Things That Make My Daughter Smile

Laughter.jpgThere is something so magical about the sound of my daughter’s laugh. It doesn’t matter how I’m feeling or what kind of day that I am having when I hear my toddler’s joy expressed in the beautiful sounds of her laughter, nothing else seems to matter.  She has an award winning smile that goes along with that laugh. Her sweet little nose crinkles all up & that one perfect dimple that she inherited from her daddy could melt even the coldest heart.

Lately, meltdowns and tantrums have become a regular part of our day. Most of the meltdowns resolve themselves quickly and on their own. but every once in a while we try to give her a nudge back in the happy direction.

Here are some tactics used to get my silly girl to smile again…

1. SNEEZING

I don’t know why she thinks this is so funny but she does. Whether it’s mommy or daddy, a good “Aaaaaa Aaaaa Aaaaachoo!” will crack a smile instantly.

2. BOOKS

During a temper tantrum, sometimes I will pick up one of her favorite books https://thepinterestedparent.wordpress.com/2013/11/10/whats-your-favorite-childrens-book/ & start reading, after a moment or two she will usually settle down & crawl up on mommy or daddy’s lap to hear how her favorite tale ends. We use this alot during meal time melt downs. She will stop and listen to the story & eventually take nibbles of her food.

001

3. THE HOT DOG DANCE

If you have ever watched the Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, you know what I am talking about. She loves this song. I keep this on standby in my phone. I pull it out in times of great distress like when we are at the doctor’s office. It work’s like a charm.

4. KISS ATTACK

I do this whether she is cranky or not. I just love kissing my baby.

1098229_10201389506732893_481644124_n

5. FAKE STAIRS

Mai loves the old walking down the fake stairs trick. I do this behind our kitchen island. She tries to mimic mommy’s actions while screaming out “stairs, stairs”. It is seriously, the cutest thing in the world.

6. TICKLE ME ELMO

Enough said

7. ABC MOUSE

When she hears the word “mouse”, she will drop whatever she is doing and jump on on my lap, excited to learn. If you haven’t heard of ABC mouse, it is an online learning app for toddlers and kids. Some may not agree with this as a learning tool but in a world run by computers, I feel that having a early knowledge of technology with be helpful in her future. This app teaches colors, shapes, alphabet, animals, reading, math, you get the point. It presents it in a fun & colorful manner set to fun upbeat music & narrated by other children.

8.PEEKABOO

Creeping up to my daughter’s crib in the morning is one of my favorite things. Mai lays in her bed in the morning recapping the previous day’s lessons. A…ahhh ahhh -apple. B- bbbb bbbb – ball. I will peek my eyes through the slats of her crib & say “Where’s Mommy & then duck down. I hear laughter and kicking as she laughs at her silly mommy.

9. RUNNING

Mai thinks running is funny. While she runs or if she sees an animal or another person run, she giggles while yelling “Running”. In mid-meltdown, I will often pick her up and shuffle up & down our hall, yelling “Go,Go,Go, Go  Go” This works about 80% of the time. “Ruuuuuuunning!”

10. HER ANIMAL FACE BOOK

I know I said books already but this is more of a toy than a book. I actually find this book a little creepy looking but she love it. The storyteller sticks there face into the book & makes the animals sounds while telling the story. She thinks this is hilarious.

039

It’s even creepier than I thought it was, but…

046

Boy, does it make her smile.

Because I have no control over this, I can only give an honorable mention to…

FARTING

This refers to hers, not mine. This is a new development. It is amusing to me that even at a young age, the timeless humor of bathroom sounds will even send my toddler daughter into fits of hilarity. It  cracks me up, listening to her crack herself up after she passes gas. She likes to tell us about it too. “Poop”! “Yes, you did poop, baby girl.

These are silly tactics that work on our little rug rat & of course do not work for everyone. What are some tricks that you use to cheer up your cranky toddler?

Up next…Saltine Cracker Bark

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Things That Make My Daughter Smile

  1. Dan Hauk says:

    Our 18-month-old daughter loves to “dance ballet”. If she starts getting cranky we turn on some classical music and she starts spinning and jumping around, often asking to wear one of her princess dresses after a couple minutes.

  2. pfchico says:

    That is adorable. Thank you for your sharing. It is amazing how they can flip that switch & change their moods so quickly. I wish I had the ability to shake off a bad mood that easily.

  3. Your daughter is adorable! Great ways to calm her down. Its shows you know your daughter well.

  4. ABC Mouse is an absolute favorite in our house!! Everytime the internet comes up and the volume is on I hear little feet going 90 MPH. Love this post!!

Leave a Reply

