Puppet Theater part 2 DIY stage & the Show

3391

Looking around my house today, I realized that our home has officially turned into ‘Romper Room’. It is as if adults do not even reside here. It is amazing that even with as many toys and activities that we have for our toddler,she still gets bored. Our latest project to help alleviate boredom…the puppet show.
If you were following us yesterday, you would have seen my DIY felt puppet tutorial, which was part 1 of today’s post. https://thepinterestedparent.wordpress.com/2013/11/16/puppet-theater-part-1-the-felt-puppets/

We have the puppets, now we need the stage to put on our show.

What you will need…

A cardboard box

a glue gun

box cutter

fabric

markers

paint

paint brush

craft wire

craft sticks (popsicle sticks)

How to…

Select a box to use for your project. If it is used box, peel any tape or labels off of it. Seal the box shut using your glue gun.
323

Outline & cut out openings in the front and back of the box.
324
327

Pick a color for your puppet stage & paint the outside of the box.
329
330

Use fabric to make your curtains. I used an old shirt that I was about to throw away. Use craft wire to string up curtain. Poke two holes on the top of your box at opposite ends. Pull the craft wire with curtain through the holes & knot to secure.

Use a piece of the cut cardboard to outline the puppet show sign.
333

Cut out the sign design & paint it. Let dry & put your message on the sign.
335

Glue popsicle sticks along the bottom to form a base.
336

Place your cardboard box on a bookshelf or other raised surface. Cover the surface with some colored fabric or sheet.
3391

Let the show begin…

003

0011

 002

The verdict…

While Mai loved the puppets & was even asking for them by name. “Where did June go?” The actual puppet show entertained, for only a matter of moments. She did however enjoy playing in the box later on that day.

Up next…Baked Macaroni & Cheese with Mini Meatballs

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts, Toddler activities and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Puppet Theater part 2 DIY stage & the Show

  1. Genzel says:

    This is such a great project for kids. I remember when I was young, I love watching puppet TV Shows. 🙂 Thanks for the nice, easy to follow DIY project 🙂

  2. dadvanwinkle says:

    This is an excellent site. You have done a masterful job on this. Great recipes, pictures, questions..good work. take care bp

Leave a Reply

