Healthy Macaroni & Cheese with Meatballs

0431

For the majority of my life I have had a wonderful & passionate love affair with cheese. I love cheese. Before my pancreatic attack, I would melt cheese on just about anything. My husband would laugh at me when we ordered pizza because I would melt a slice of cheese on top of my already cheesy slice. After being put on a restricted diet, I have had to limit my dairy intake because of the fat. I have cut out refined carbs, oils & fats except for the very rare guilty indulgence. One of the things that I have missed the most is macaroni & cheese. I have been craving it a lot lately. Would I be able to still make a delicious macaroni & cheese while trying to stay true to my diet?

Let’s find out…

I decided to couple the macaroni & cheese with meatballs because my daughter loves meatballs. It is the one dinner choice I can feel confident about.

Mai was so excited about the meatballs, she thought she would lend mommy a hand with the cooking tonight.

It used to upset me when Mai would make big messes. I have since learned that the bigger the mess, the happier my baby. That is what brooms are for. Look at how proud & happy my little girl is to be helping mommy.

0281

MACARONI & CHEESE WITH MEATBALLS

Turkey Meatballs

Ingredients

1 – 1 1/2 lbs of ground turkey

1/2 cup wheat stuffing

1/2 tbsp minced garlic

1/2 tbsp garlic salt

3 egg whites

1/4 cup skim milk

1/2 cup of chopped spinach (this is optional, I use this as a tactic for sneaking veggies into my anti-vegetable family’s meals)

1 tbsp worchester sauce

1/4 cup of low fat parmesan cheese

salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400. Combine all ingredients into a large mixing bowl & mix well with hands until all ingredients are well blended.

0131

Form into cocktail balls & place on an ungreased baking sheet.

0211

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until no longer pink inside. Set aside.

While meatballs are cooking, prepare the macaroni & cheese.

MACARONI & CHEESE

Ingredients

1 tbsp of light butter

2 cups of wheat pasta

2 cups of skim milk

1/4 cup wheat flour

1/2 tsp worchester sauce

1/4 tsp of ground mustard

1 8 oz package of low fat cheddar cheese or 2 cups of grated

Salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375

Cook pasta according to cooking directions & drain.

In a medium sauce pan melt butter, add milk, worchester sauce, mustard& flour & mix. Bring to a boil. At boiling, let simmer stirring continually until sauce is smooth & starts to thicken.

Add the cheese. Continue to stir until cheese is melted.

Add pasta & meatballs to the sauce pan & stir until pasta & meatballs are coated.

Transfer to a casserole dish & bake for about 20 minutes.

Dinner is served…

0431

The verdict…

My husband & I both thought this was delicious, although I am sure he would have opted for the full fat version. Sorry honey! He’s a good sport, though. Mai picked out the meatballs & fed the dog the macaroni. Duke enjoyed it. All & all, it was a successful family meal & I finally got my mac & cheese.

For dessert, I made cranberry oatmeal dark chocolate chip cookies.

Ingredients

3 cups of quick oats

2 egg whites

1 cup of wheat flour

1 cup of applesauce

1 cup of cranberries

1 cup of dark chocolate chips

2/3 cup of brown sugar

2/3 cup of sugar

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 Baking soda

Heat oven to 350

In a large mixing bowl, add applesauce & both sugars. Beat until smooth

Add egg whites & vanilla & beat until blended

Mix in flour, baking soda & cinnamon until well blended & then stir in quick oats, chocolate chips & cranberries

Roll into small spoon size balls & place on a baking sheet. Bake for about 10 minutes. Times will vary depending on stove.

Cool on a cooling rack & serve.

059

Using apple sauce instead of butter not only cuts the fat but makes for a wonderfully moist cookie. I indulged in one too many of these & even my pickiest critic gave them a rave review.

0501

Up next…Toddler Exercise

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healthy Macaroni & Cheese with Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Last Hoorah: Quick and Easy Meatball Sammies | Night Owl Kitchen

Leave a Reply

