Frozen banana bites & other fruity finger foods

fruitybites.jpg

When Mai began eating solid food, I had a lot of anxiety about food allergies. I made sure to introduce new foods slowly & would watch her carefully for any signs of an allergic reaction. No fear was more prominent than the introduction of peanut butter into her diet.

I can still remember the first time feeding it to her. I spread a thin layer on a chunk of toast & watched her with bated breath as she nibbled on that first bite. After a few minutes had passed, I was relieved to see that she didn’t have a reaction, but to my disappointment, my daughter did not like the peanut butter.

It has been almost a year since she had her first taste & she still does not have any interest in it. This bothers me. I am not quite sure why. She has always been picky. For some reason I thought that peanut butter was going to be a magical food that she would solve all my mealtime woes. I had images of her happily eating a Pb & J with a big messy smile on her face, but this never happened. My determination to get her to eat peanut butter continues. Mai loves bananas. I always loved the combination of bananas with peanut butter & thought maybe my daughter would too. Let’s find out…

Frozen Banana Bites

These are very easy to make, so I only make them one banana at a time.

Preheat oven to 375.

Slice banana into 1 inch chunks. Mix one heaping spoonful of peanut butter with a tbsp of honey & thin with water until it forms a creamy sauce.

0011

On a separate plate add graham cracker crumbs. You can purchase them or make your own crumbs. I mash mine with a potato masher.

0021

Dip the banana chunk into the peanut butter mixture & then coat in graham cracker crumbs.

0041 0051

Place on an ungreased baking sheet & bake for 5-10 minutes till outside is lightly toasted. Watch carefully not to burn the graham crackers. Let cool & then place in the freezer.

aBananabites1.jpg

These are wonderful. They taste like crunchy ice cream balls.

Did my anti-peanut butter baby agree?

0281

SHE LIKES IT!

Here are a couple more fruit inspired, quick & delicious treats…

Blue Cheese Stuffed Apricots with Bacon I had these as a side to my main course at a restaurant. I loved them so much I had to try them at home. I used turkey bacon instead of regular to lower the fat. Preheat oven to 400. Cook the bacon halfway. Make sure that it is still soft.

Yeah, I own one of these things.

Yeah, I own one of these things.

Bacon packages vary in slices. Butterfly enough dried apricots to go the number of bacon slices being used.

0181

Stuff generously with crumbled blue cheese & then wrap with bacon. Bake for 10 minutes or until bacon is crispy. Cook times will vary depending on oven.

0251

Caramel & Peanut Apple Slices

Wash & cut the apple into wedges. Heat caramel & dip wedges into the warm caramel. Roll in crushed peanuts. It tastes like a bite sized candied apple.

0341

Enjoy!

Up next… Remembering Mom

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frozen banana bites & other fruity finger foods

  1. Franc Ramon says:

    I prefer fruity kind of sweetness so I would really like the frozen banana bites and the other food options here.

  2. Love this idea!! Looks so yummy…and easy!

Leave a Reply

