BBQ Chicken Pizza With Wheat Crust

0571

Pizza! Yet another food that I have missed while trying to preserve my pancreas from further injury. A low fat diet has no room for pizza in it, but yet my taste buds & my heart still want to welcome in it’s cheesy goodness.

I have seen recipes for whole wheat pizza crust before & was weary to try it. I was told that it was dry & hard when made with the whole wheat flour even when cut with all purpose. I was weary, but still I couldn’t shake my craving for a slice of pie. I used to frequent a pizza parlor in my younger days that served barbecue chicken & tortellini pizza. It was my favorite. That would be the first pizza I tried with my healthier crust recipe.

What you will need…

Wheat crust

1 teaspoon of sugar

1 1/2 cup of water (it must be warmed to 110 degrees to activate yeast)

1 tbsp active dry yeast

1tbsp honey

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp salt

1 cup of all purpose flour

Toppings

1 1/2 cups shredded cooked chicken

1 cup of cooked tortellini

1 cup of bbq sauce

1 1/4 cup of low fat mozzerella

salt & pepper to taste

Directions

In a large mixing bowl, add warmed water & sugar. When sugar is dissolved, add yeast & let sit for 10 minutes or until foamy.

0281

Add olive oil, salt & honey and stir in the flours. Mix until it forms dough.  If too soft add more flour. If too hard add a little extra water.

0291

Transfer dough to a floured surface & continue to knead until dough is smooth & all flour is blended

Transfer dough to an oiled bowl & place in a warm place with a towel over it, to sit for about an hour. The dough should double in size.

0381

The warmest room in our house is the nursery. The dough rocked it out on the rocking chair in Mai’s room.

When dough is done rising ,take out of the bowl & form it into a ball. Place it on a floured surface & let sit an additional 45 minutes.

0451

Preheat your oven to 425

Roll out the ball with a rolling pin & the drape over your fists. Circle your fists under the dough stretching the dough outward. Rotate the dough as you stretch. When you have formed your dough to the appropriate sized, place on a greased pizza pan.

Bake for about 5 minutes then remove from the oven.

While baking the crust add the cooked chicken to 1/4 cup of bbq sauce & mix.

0461

Take the crust out after 5 minutes and add bbq sauce like you would pizza sauce. Use as much or as little as you like to your taste. Add 1 cup of cheese, chicken mixture & salt and pepper & tortellini & then sprinkle with remaining cheese.

0481 049

Bake for another 10-15 minutes or until golden brown.

Remove from the oven, let cool & enjoy…

0571

The verdict… I thought the pizza was delicious. The crust wasn’t dry or hard at all, quite the opposite actually. It was wonderfully flavorful & was a great compliment to the toppings. It think next time I will even try it using only the wheat flour.

And what did my favorite little taste tester think…

0601

Well she liked the crust but the toppings did not make the cut.

Up next…Matching Daisies

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to BBQ Chicken Pizza With Wheat Crust

  1. This looks absolutely delicious! Been wanting to avoid eating pizza too, but I might try your recipe. 🙂

    xx Daphne of http://daphnebenosa.com

    • pinparent says:

      I missed pizza so much. This was wonderful. It is hard giving up food you love. You have to treat yourself every once in a while & if you can you it in a more healthy way, it’s even better.

  2. Pingback: Cheesy Bread Rolls ! | Miss Spicy Hat n' Sugar Socks

  3. Pingback: Delectable Low Fat Pizza! | Miss Spicy Hat n' Sugar Socks

Leave a Reply

