DIY Christmas Card Display

IMG_20131217_220615_09312

Let the Christmas crafting fun continue…

I love Christmas cards. This year, we had a ton of fun shooting our family Christmas card featuring our little beauty.                           https://thepinterestedparent.wordpress.com/2013/11/05/christmas-card-photo-shoot-ideas/                                                                                                                                                  Here was this year’s Christmas card.

2013-12-06_2249

Even better than sending them is receiving them. December is the only time of the year that I am excited to check the mail. Typically, I string up our cards proudly across our mantle, but this year I felt inspired after seeing posts of different Christmas card displays. I felt up to the challenge of creating my own display & here is what I came up with.

Mail Box Christmas Card Display

What you will need:

Cardboard

Modge Podge (I make my own with Elmer’s glue & water)

Wrapping paper scraps

Scissors

Paint brush

Glue gun

Ribbon

Paper Clips

3-M adhesive strips

0051

Cut out the shape for the main body of your mailbox.

0071

Cut out the mailbox opening.

0091

Cut out the remaining shapes & layout the pieces

0101

Glue the mailbox body to the post & attach a piece of cardboard to place behind the mailboxes’ opening.

0161

0201

Don’t forget to cover the edges with the paper & glue for a nicer finish. Wrap the paper around to the back.

0211

When you have covered this portion of your mailbox, move on to your mailbox opening. 0221

0141

With your glue gun glue the finished opening in place.

0231

Add an additional piece of card board for the open mail box door. Curl the ribbon & decide how you want to position it.

0251

Glue down the parts of the ribbon curl that touch down on the mailbox.

IMG_20131217_211609_9821

IMG_20131217_220615_0931

I used 3-M adhesive strips to adhere to wall. These won’t damage your wall & are easy to remove. Display your card by paperclipping to the ribbon.

Related Topics:

http://taradaramadeit.com/christmas-card-display-ideas/

http://catchmyparty.com/blog/clothespin-christmas-card-wreath-diy

http://www.bloglovin.com/frame?post=2069645243&group=0&frame_type=a&blog=726939&link=aHR0cDovL2ZlZWRwcm94eS5nb29nbGUuY29tL35yL2NlbnRzYXRpb25hbGdpcmwvY0hBZi9-My9JX2dkZG43OUVfTS8&frame=1&click=0&user=0

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to DIY Christmas Card Display

  1. Was so looking for a way to display so many of the cards we have been getting and this is truly adorable. Seriously love it and need to try to do this. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Thanks so much for visiting me at Chatting Over Chocolate! … This is such a fun Christmas Card display! Love it!! Merry Christmas to you and your family!!

  3. This is such a unique way to display cards. Thanks for sharing with this week’s Throwback Thursday party.

  4. This is such a great idea!!! I just love this cute project!!

  5. What a fabulous idea! looks pretty and easy to do- thanks for sharing!

  6. Pingback: DIY Christmas Card Display | The Mystic Kitchen

  7. Great idea. We normally just hide our old Christmas Card. This is a great way to display them this season. Thanks for sharing

  8. This is such a sweet and creative way to display your cards. Your Christmas card is terrific. Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things blog hop. Wishing you a lovely weekend and a very Merry Christmas♥

Leave a Reply

