A Glass of Dirty Nog & a Little Procrastination

IMG_20131223_230453_062

As I sit here staring at a pile of bags filled with gifts that need wrapping, I wonder why it is that I am not wrapping them. Instead, I sit with a blanket on my legs, a laptop on top, a dog at my feet & a glass of Dirty Nog in my hand. In case you are wondering, Dirty Nog is a drink that my husband & I concocted of egg nog & a shot of espresso vodka with whipped cream. It is divine.

Why do we procrastinate? I do this all the time. I started out so well. I bought my first Christmas gifts in September. I thought this year would be different & now here I am on December 23rd at 11:30 pm, with Christmas shopping still left to do, gifts that need wrapping & a ton of baking to do before Christmas eve night. Still, I am writing this rather than wrapping my presents or doing my holiday baking.

A friend of mine from work asked me to draw a picture of her brother’s dog for Christmas. She asked me this about 6 weeks ago. Today was the last day that I was going to see her before the holidays, so guess who started drawing at 10pm last night. Nothing like waiting until the very last minute.

179

It makes me think of all the other things that I put off in my life.

1. Coloring my hair. My skunky mane has needed coloring for some time now. This is only a 20 minute process that I insist that I don’t have any time for. I am pretty sure that writing this post has taken me about 20 minutes. Sigh!

2. Training for a marathon with my husband.  I swore I was going to run one with him this year. I broke out my jog stroller once, ran around the block and now it is safely packed away in our garage again.

3. Organizing the house. What this should actually read is organizing Mai’s toys, clothes, play area, etc. There really is little evidence of any adults living in this house. It is one big playground for our daughter.

4. Writing a children’s book. Yup! That’s right. I have had a few ideas for books under my belt for a while. I have my story set, I just need to work on the illustrations, but I am missing the motivation to do so.

Maybe my New Year’s resolution will be to stop procrastinating. Next year will be different for sure, but while we are still in 2013, I will worry about it tomorrow.

As Aaron Burr once said “Never do today what you can put off till tomorrow”. I’m even going to put off finishing this post until the morning. Goodnight.

Related Topics:

http://cat9984.wordpress.com/2013/12/22/i-dont-have-time-for-this/

http://jessamyandjo.com/2013/12/20/stop-procrastinating-and-get-on-with-it/

http://quarterlifeconfessional.wordpress.com/2013/12/18/thirty-days-of-thought-provokign-questions-what-are-you-procrastinating-on-right-at-this-moment/

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Glass of Dirty Nog & a Little Procrastination

  1. Totally with you on procrastinating, but I do think I do my best work under pressure, if it makes any consolation! 🙂

  2. Yeah, I work well under pressure too. Just sometimes maybe I should try it without the stress & pressure.

  3. cat9984 says:

    Glad to see I’m not the only one who puts off the hair color! Can’t figure out why it seems so time-consuming.

Leave a Reply

