Conversations With My Daughter (The Terrible Twos Edition)

Meltdown.jpg

Mai: Mama, juice peeease?
I get up and pour my sweet daughter a juice.
Mai: (Handing the cup back) Mama, purple juice.
Me: That is purple juice, Mai.
Mai: Noooooo, (in a quivering cry)  purple juice.
I open up the fridge to show her. A purple bottle and a red bottle of juice sit on the bottom shelf. Mai pulls out the purple and hands it to me. I add a splash more to her cup. She pulls out the red too and places it on the floor. I pick it up and return it to the fridge right next to it’s purple neighbor.
Mai dramatically drops to the floor crying and screaming.
Mai: No red juice, frigerator. Noooooooo!
I calmly pick up my child and her juice and bring her to the couch as she kicks and she screams.
Me: Do princesses scrape their knees? (I begin reading from one of her favorite books.)
After a minute or two, the tears stop and are replaced with her beautiful smile. A moment later…
Mai: Mama, red juice?
Mommy needs a beer, any color will be fine.

Conversations such as this are becoming ritual in our home, so are the meltdowns that ensue after them. No sooner than the smoke cleared from blowing out her birthday candles, it hit. So this is what they mean by the “Terrible Twos”.

Mai:”Mama, have berry milk, peeeease.”
Me:”Here is your strawberry milk, baby.”
Mai:” Noooooooo (sippy cup whizzing past my feet),choco milk.
Me: Sigh!

So basically what I am saying is the terrible twos suck. Do you want to know the worst part?                                                                                                                                               Everyone tells me that 3 is even worse.

Share your terrible two’s stories. I would love to know that I am not alone.

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Conversations With My Daughter (The Terrible Twos Edition)

  1. You are not alone and had the terrible twos for two years in a row pretty much. But I have to tell you that three is actually not as bad as two from my experience both times out. So definitely something to look forward to 🙂

    • I hope you are right, Janine. She is melting down at the drop of a hat these days and super clingy. I don’t mind the cuddle time but when mommy has to pee, she would like to do it without someone crawling up her legs. Lol

  2. Every one of my four kids skipped the terrible twos. Three out of four (the youngest hasn’t gotten to that age yet) got the terrible teens for just a bit. 😉 I’d have traded in a heartbeat. 🙂

    • That is awesome, not the terrible teens part of course but the skip over the terrible twos. My daughter was a really tough infant and about the time she started walking at 9 months she began being just fun. She is a good girl but these meltdowns are terrible.

  3. This made me chuckle. I have already been through this with my two daughters…I hate to tell you…the terrible twos go into threes, fours, fives, sixes, and sevens (That is how old my oldest daughter is). I will soon be going through this with my baby boy.

  4. kim says:

    OMGoodness – been there done that….and still doing it…and mine is 4. TT started early and ended late for me….wish you luck!! Beer please!

  5. kasandria says:

    ((HUGS)) You are not alone and I promise one day you’l look back and smile over these memories

  6. So cute, enjoy this age time flies! You will look back and wish you could go back!

  7. Karen says:

    ((((HUGS)))) I think each age has it’s own terrible stage. Now my 4 1/2 year old has fits when he can’t do it himself, or can’t get what he wants because he truly believes he’s old enough for it. He will fling himself on the floor or tell me to do it now because he said so. I can’t wait to see how he bosses me around next year…too bad he won’t win.

    She is such a cutie…truly treasure those momenmts, and write them down to torture her with when she’s older, LOL

  8. JulesJ says:

    I feel like this post is EXACTLY what is going on with my 2 year old right now! Makes me want to pull my hair out sometimes!!! The juice conversation is the exact same I have with my daughter except that it is over what color bowl her snack goes in…or whether or not I pour her crackers out versus using my hand to get them out of the box. Ahhhh! I am so with you right now!

    • Sorry, Jules. I will have bald spots from pulling my hair out. Lol! I have had similar situations. My daughter threw all her food on the floor the other day because I served it in pieces & she wanted it “Big”. Deep breaths mommy. SIgh!

Leave a Reply

