DIY Valentine’s Day Puzzle

Untitled1

Valentine’s Day is almost here. Mai wanted to make sure that her favorite Valentine aka daddy got a special gift from his best girl. My husband loves cuddling up with his daughter. During their special snuggle time, he often calls out for me to come and see how cute they are, as if I didn’t already know. “Take a picture of us”, he asks. I have many precious moments between them captured on film. I thought it might be fun to take one of his favorite photos of him & his daddy’s little girl and make it into puzzle. It could be fun for him & Mai to put together on Valentine’s Day.

What you will need:

A 5×7 piece of cardboard

A printer copy of your favorite photo

Glue

Modge Podge

Scissors

Craft knife

Paint brush

Directions:

017

Using a printer print a 5×7 copy of a favorite photo. For the fun photo effects that I created on my photo I used befunky.com.

022

025

Cover the cardboard with glue & carefully place the picture over the cardboard making sure not to create bubbles or creases.

027

Use a paintbrush to brush the top of the picture with Modge Podge.

029

With a craft knife, carefully cut out your puzzle pieces.032

043

Continue to cut out puzzle pieces until the whole puzzle is cut out.

041

Build your puzzle back up & say Awww.

Related Topics:

http://bunnybaubles.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/chocolate-covered-strawberry-love/

http://sabrinaalery.com/2014/01/23/valentine-card-sketch-1/

http://marlaken.wordpress.com/2014/01/23/valentines-for-hubby/

DIYValentinesDayPuzzle.jpg
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/25/daily-prompt-teaching/

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to DIY Valentine’s Day Puzzle

  1. My girls love doing puzzles and think they would love it even more of their picture was on the puzzle. So, I totally pinned to try this soon. Thanks and have a great weekend 🙂

  2. Thanks Janine. Thanks for all the pins. 🙂 You have a wonderful weekend as well.

  3. What a wonderful idea. It makes a special memory last even longer.

  4. Ashley M says:

    What a great gift and a fun project too.

  5. kim says:

    That is absolutely marvelous the way you did that. I’ve bought one like yours, but never knew how to make them. So sweet!! Thanks for sharing how you did it!

  6. Laney says:

    this is an awesome idea. Ive got to find me a DIY vday gift. I wanna lean it towards kool aid b/c my man is crazy about some kool aid. glad you came by and answered my questions. means alot. hope to see you around more. will add you if i can figure out how

  7. This looks so neat!! My son is going to love making this! I pinned it so we can make it for Valentine’s Day soon 🙂 Thank you for sharing this craft!

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teaching | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  9. Pingback: Of a how-to… | Concentrate On Yourself

  10. Pingback: Eulogy Heard By Nobody | The Jittery Goat

  11. Pingback: How I paint – Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | Caring and Creating

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Teach Your (Bloggers) Well | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  13. Rosey says:

    What a fun project idea for the holiday!! Thank you for linking to Super Sunday Sync!!

  14. Leslie says:

    This is really sweet! I’m stopping by from the blog hop. I hope you & your family have a great day!

  15. Aww that’s adorable, what a great idea!

Leave a Reply

