Hash brown & Egg Breakfast Pie

IMG_20140209_114630

I love the weekends that my husband & I actually have off together. We have so few weekends together as a family that on those rare weekends, we try to squeeze in as much as we can. One of the best things about our family days is all being able to eat together. This weekend was one of those such weekends. I usually eat breakfast on the run. It is not often that I have a breakfast that doesn’t come in muffin form or come from a box. On this morning’s menu, a breakfast pie made with hash browns, eggs, cheese & veggies.

Ingredients:

3 cups of frozen hashbrowns

1 can regular or low fat cream of mushroom soup

6 eggs (or you can substitute 12 egg whites or 1 1/2 of egg substitute)

1 cup of chopped frozen broccoli

1/2 cup of your choice of meat- cooked bacon, ham or sausage. (I used veggie burger crumble)

1/2 cup of shredded cheddar

1 tbsp grated parmesan

1/2 tsp garlic salt

1/4 tsp pepper

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. In a medium sized bowl mix the hash browns, can of mushroom soup & 1/8 tsp of pepper. Mix well & spread on the bottom of a 9″ round baking dish. Bake for 20-30 minutes.

In a separate bowl beat eggs. Add parmesan cheese, garlic salt & 1/8 tsp of pepper & mix well. Stir in the broccoli and the meat. Add the egg mixture to the top of the pre-baked hash brown. Bake for another 40 minutes. Turn oven to broil & cook for an additional 2 minutes. Turn off the oven & sprinkle cheddar over the top. Let cheese melt & remove from the oven & let cool before serving.

001004005008

011

My husband enjoyed this so much that he ate it for breakfast & again at dinner time.

Related Topics:

http://simplyumi.com/2014/02/09/fancy-way-to-start-the-morning-baked-egg-in-a avocado/

http://trialanderrorkitchen.wordpress.com/2014/02/09/sourdough-english-muffins/

http://princessmiscellaneous.wordpress.com/2014/02/10/whats-a-frittata-with-you/

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hash brown & Egg Breakfast Pie

  1. This looks delicious and think both my husband and I would enjoy. Not sure about my girls though. How did Mai like it?

  2. Charisma says:

    Mmm everything you love all in one! Looks delicious!

  3. Looks delicious! My veggie daughter and hubby love eggs and hash browns! I’m sure it is great with the veggie burger crumble.

  4. Sarah says:

    This looks awesome!! I need to try it soon. Maybe this weekend if I can remember to buy the ingredients!!

  5. anna says:

    Thanks for linking up to the Tuesday Tutorials Pin Party! This looks so tasty! I will have to try it

  6. cindy b says:

    This looks really yummy! I can’t wait to try it! Thanks for sharing!

  7. Danielle says:

    Thanks for the ping back!
    My husband said “yum” to this recipe, so I think I’ll have to try it!

Leave a Reply

