A Bittersweet Goodbye

Untitled

In life there are many choices. Some choices are simple…What are we having for dinner? Others are a bit harder…Should we start a family? After having my daughter, the choice not to go back to work was an easy one. That first year it was so crucial for me to be a part of her infant development. I didn’t want to miss a thing. I didn’t want to hear about her first steps or learn that she spoke her first words from someone else. I wanted to be a part of them.

When it came time to re-enter the workforce, the choice was a tough one. When I started my job, everyone insisted it would get easier. They said it would feel good to get out of the house. They were wrong. I missed her every day. My work schedule was erratic. It was ever changing and included nights and weekends. It was difficult for me not being able to put my baby to sleep every night. It would break my heart to miss out on weekend outings with my family. It was taking a toll on me, so when the opportunity presented itself to leave my current position for a better one with 9-5 hours, I jumped at it.

The past two weeks I have been giddy with excitement about starting my new job and having a more suitable home/work balance. Then something happened yesterday. I realized that I was sad for the part of my job that I was going to miss..the people, the co-workers and friends that I have made over the past year at my home away from home.

Today is my last day. Today is our last chance to share anecdotes about our families in the break room. There will be no more stories of crazy customers exchanged in passing through the store. Today, I will bid farewell to all the faces I have been accustomed to seeing almost daily. So today, I say a bittersweet goodbye to my work family. Know that I will never forget you and that I hope that my new co-workers will be half as lovely as you were. On to the next chapter…

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bittersweet Goodbye

  1. Aww, I wish you the best of luck and have faith that you will love your new job (keeping my fingers crossed or you!).

Leave a Reply

