Yarn Embellished Initial Wall Hanging

yarninitial.jpgMy daughter as many of you may well know, is named after my mother. Mai is a less than common name, which is one of the things I love about it. She will always be unique. We have a lot of personalized & monagrammed things for her. I cannot see the letter M without thinking of my little munchkin. So when I was shopping at Michael’s and saw a giant wooden M for sale, I had to scoop it up. Her room is purple with golden & neutral tones, so I chose colors to compliment her room. What you will need: A wooden letter Different colored yarns Elmers glue Scissors Glue gun

023

Purchase a cheap wooden letter from a craft store or make one yourself.

Form a circle using the glue. Starting from the center begin circling the yarn around itself.

Form a circle using the glue. Starting from the center begin circling the yarn around itself.

Continue to circle around until you cover the glue circle.

Continue to circle around until you cover the glue circle.

031

Snip the end of your yarn off and form into the circle.

032

Working off the edge of the first circle add another glue circle and repeat the circling method.

033

For circles that are not full because off cut out edges, form half circles around each side cutting off the ends at the edge.

036

Continue this pattern, making circles as big or as small as you desire.

006

To fill in uncovered spaces around the circles, fill in with a different colored yarn following the same lines as your circles.

001

004

Line the edges of your letter with the accent yarn to smooth out your edges & add a more finished look.

015

Braid the different colored yarns together & knot each end.

017

With a glue gun add hot glue on the back of your initial where you would like your hanger.

018

Press your braided yarn into the glue & repeat on the other side.

yarninitial.jpg

Find a place to hang your craft.

 

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Yarn Embellished Initial Wall Hanging

  1. So pretty and love how you took a simple wooden letter and made a masterpiece out of it!! 🙂

  2. LWilkie says:

    So simple, so cute!

  3. babymall says:

    This is adorable! I feel like I’d get frustrated and impatient halfway through but the end result is so cute!

Leave a Reply

