Question Tuesday! Who’s Your Favorite Disney Princess?

article-2321930-19B2D51E000005DC-16_306x504

Having a two year old daughter, I have quite the collection of Disney movies. Actually I am kidding myself with this statement. The truth is I have most of these movies more for me than for her. I love Disney and Pixar movies. What is not to love, the beautiful animation, the music, the love stories, the lessons & those princesses. I know that these days many frown upon the so called message the Disney princesses bring, but I still love those ladies.
From the first of the princesses, Snow White to the latest two Elsa & Anna, each of them has brought their own unique and beautiful story.

Sure, Jasmine is exotic & Rapunzel has that great hair. Sleeping beauty gets to nap all day, (she obviously does not have any children), and Cinderella has the fancy shoes, but it is Merida from Brave that tops my list.

Tonight, after putting my daughter to bed, I popped in Brave. This is not one that my daughter is especially fond of, but it is my favorite.

It could be because of the music, something about Scottish music has always moved me. Perhaps it is that I covet that wonderfully wild red mane on Merida’s head. Maybe, it is because I have always been fascinated by archery. It could be Merida’s independence and fiery spirit that I love best. It could be all of those things, but I think if truth be told it is the love story that wins my heart. It is not the typical love story for a Disney Princess. There is no gallant prince on a galloping steed. There is no spell to be broken by true loves kiss, although there is still a spell to be broken by love. The main love story in this movie is centered onMerida & her mother.

Like most teenage girls and their mothers, they struggle to understand each other. When they are forced to flee their kingdom together, they embark on a journey of discovery and learn a lot about each other and themselves. It is not until Merida thinks that she has lost her mother that she realizes how much she loves her and that she finally admits to herself that her mother has always been there for her.

I suppose that me missing my own mother has a lot to do with it, which would explain the shameful display of waterworks that occurs each time the movie ends. So while the Frog Princess and Little Mermaid are spectacular, Merida is my favorite Disney princess.

Which is your favorite princess and why?

 

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Question Tuesday! Who’s Your Favorite Disney Princess?

  1. Love Merida, too and the Mother-Daughter story does get me every time, but in our house right now it is Elsa all the way apparently according to my two little princesses 🙂

  2. I’m not a Disney princess fan, but I do like Tinkerbell. Maybe that doesn’t count because she is a fairy and not a princess. 🙂 I like that she is an engineer and solves problems. I also like that there aren’t any scary bad animals/people in the movies because my daughters are scared of EVERYTHING. Some Saturday morning cartoons are too much to handle!

  3. Ariel is mine :). Funny you talked about Disney, because today’s post is Disney related too!

  4. MomBrainisthenewBlonde says:

    I love Anna. She cracks me up! I love how feisty she is and all her little quirks 🙂

  5. Mallorye says:

    Kira from lion king 2 has to be my favorite! I am a huge lion king fan. Recently though I have come to love frozen and Elsa!

Leave a Reply

