Week One Training Complete – The Good, The Bad & The Out Of Shape

009I knew that there was a reason that I didn’t exercise. I remembered why all too clearly during this past week. BUT, I did it! I made it through my first week of training for next month’s Foam Fest 5K .

My marathon running husband is ecstatic that I am running my first race. In fact he is excited that I am attempting to run at all. He has this vision of him, Mai & I running marathons together around the world. Whooa, whoa, whoa, lets pump the brakes a little. The only way at this point that this would happen is if he was pushing me in a wheelbarrow.

I am not overweight. I have a relatively decent physique, but I am in horrible shape. This week was difficult for many reasons. I started my week out slowly. Here is how it played out.

Day one: I woke up early and took the dog for a walk. Our street is on a small incline, not a hill just a bit of a slant. I am embarrassed to admit, that I was huffing & puffing trying to walk up it. I am certain all of my neighbors were looking out the window and laughing at me, probably exchanging phone calls and saying “What is wrong with Kim? Is she gonna make back to the top of the street?” Even my dog was looking at me with judging eyes. “Suck it up”, his eyes were saying. A half hour walk might as well have been a marathon for me.

Day 2: My lazy butt did not get up with the alarm on day 2. Wanting to at least get my heart pumping, I did Wii boxing when I got home from work. Mai joined in and put mommy to shame as she has far more stamina than I do.

Day 3: I woke up with sore arms. Yup, I had sore arms from punching at a virtual punching bag that was not really there. This morning we went for a family walk. I returned to face my old nemesis, the dreaded incline. I of course had to fake my way up it & pretend like I was I wasn’t hyperventilating. “This is great, hon. Yeah! I feel good.” Lying!

Day 4: Something must be wrong with my alarm clock, because it did not go off again. Hmm. I better get that checked, right after I finish this chocolate bar.

Day 5: Mai and I did jumping jacks and lifted weights. My daughter is highly amused by jumping jacks. She laughs & claps while I jump & squeals “Good trick mommy.”

Day 6: I went to the gym for the first time in 10 months. I walked for 2 miles on the treadmill. I left with sore legs and tender shins. How do you people do it?

Day 7: Which brings us today. I ran today. I actually ran. Don’t throw up any confetti just yet. It was downhill and only to the end of my street. The good news is the exhaustion from running down the hill, made it easier to just have to walk back up it. It was a cold morning, but the cold kept me surprisingly energized. We did this for about 40 minutes this morning, running down the hill and walking back up.
Duke didn’t mock me with his eyes today. We had a good morning, my pup & I. On to week two…

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week One Training Complete – The Good, The Bad & The Out Of Shape

  1. Oh so happy for a good week and I am with you though. I am not overweight by any means, but definitely out of shape. But so proud of you for doing this and rooting you on for sure 🙂

Leave a Reply

