Excuses, Excuses!

IMG_16801Before my daughter started talking, I remember not being able to wait until she could talk. My husband & I thought life would be much easier once she was able to communicate with us. We would know why she was crying, or laughing, if she was hungry & what she was thinking.
When she started talking it was very exciting for us. Her vocabulary grew so quickly & before we knew it we had a regular chatterbox on our hands. Some of the things that come out of our little girl’s mouth are amazing. They can be funny, sweet, heart felt, heart breaking & sometimes very frustrating.
Lately, our daughter has found a way to use her words in a more sneaky & manipulative manner. I like to call her our little con artist. She has gotten quite clever with formulating excuses & convincing arguments to get what she wants.

On Eating:
We have had a battle with food for about 1 1/2 year now. Meal times are a game, Mai against Mommy & Daddy.

IMG_16781
1. Dukey’s hungry. I give him Mai Mai’s food.
2. Mama, it’s too spicy.
3. It’s too cheesy.
4. Mama, warm it up.
5. Mama, I go eat on the couch.
6. I like jelly beans for supper.
7. Poop is not good for supper.

On Potty Training:
As we are in the midst of potty training now, Mai is in that hide & poop phase. She has a couple of tell tale hiding spots. She was under the table doing her usual routine. Mai, are you going poop?

0071

1. No, not yet.
2. I’m so busy.
3. Mama, go cook supper.
4. No Mama! Leave the pants on.

On Bedtime:
Last week we finally took the plunge and converted our daughter’s crib into a toddler bed. We had put it off for a very long time for fear that our active little girl would not stay in her bed. Much to our surprise she took to her big girl bed very well. She has not tried to get out of it once, but all of a sudden has decided that she has a million reasons why she can not go to sleep.

0061
Tonight as I try to relax, eat a bowl of ice cream & watch the Big Bang Theory, I am constantly interrupted by a symphony of excuses…
1. Mama, rock the baby?
2. I have poop in the butt. I need the potty.
3. Mama, cover my feet.
4. I have a boo boo on the belly.
5. I’m falling off my big girl bed.
6. I need my owl jammies
7. Mama, more music please!
8. I need juice!
9. Mama, I have a bug bite.
10. I need one book more.

P.S. My ice cream melted.

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
Image | This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Excuses, Excuses!

  1. Sasha says:

    Haha, so true!! They seem to learn both speech and negotiation at the same time! Too cute!! 🙂

  2. I have lost count how many times my ice cream has melted and my food has gone cold. Seriously, I eat a lot of melted and cold dishes lately, too, lol!! 🙂

  3. mummyofboygirltwins says:

    This is hilarious!! I love her! However, it’s freaking me out a little bit – as I have toddler twins (eeeek!) imagine how much they will try to con me together? Wish me luck 😉

  4. Divya says:

    I hear you on the excuses! My daughter has taken to trying to convince me that she has, in fact, pooped in the potty when she hasn’t. “Look! I’ve done a biiiiig poop!”

Leave a Reply

