Little Miss No-It-All

IMG_2732One of the things that scared me when I found out that we were having a little girl was the fact that she would eventually grow into a teenage girl. I remember my relationship with my mother at that age. It was not a good one. Like most girls my age I thought I knew it all & thought that I was much smarter than my parents. Of course I had all the answers. It wasn’t until I was older & moved out of my parent’s home that I was able to talk with my mother & form a friendship. I fear that as Mai gets older all that sweetness & love that she has for us now & especially for me will fade. I think of this & it makes me want to hold on to every ounce of love and innocence that I can squeeze out of my daughter while she is still young, before she thinks she “knows it all”.

What worries me is recently my two year has become a Miss Know-it-all. What’s even more concerning is sometimes she is right.

Here are some of this week’s arguments between my daughter & me…

On the environment: After coming home from the craft store, Mai asked me to open up a package of pipe cleaners. As she began to play with them, I gathered up the cardboard & wrapper and said I was going to throw it in the trash. My daughter gasped and in an accusing voice exclaimed “Mama, that’s recycling.” She grabbed it from me & ran to the recycle bin. Oops. Mommy’s bad. At least my daughter is conscientious towards the environment.

On geography: Mai & I have geography lessons daily. She knows her US states & we have working on bodies of water now. Every time I show her Lake Michigan she corrects me. “No Mama, that’s not Michigan. This is Michigan.” She of course is pointing to the state. This has so far been a losing battle. We will continue to try to explain this to her every day until the protests stop.

On food: While eating a hamburger the other day. I said to my daughter this burger is so juicy. Mai: “No mama, apples are juicy. Hamburger is nummy.” Me: “Mai hamburgers can be juicy too.” Mai: “No, they not. Apples are juicy.”

On books: Tonight while reading ‘Go Dog Go’ we had a 5 minute argument over what was happening on this page.

003

Mai: “Mama, what they doing?” Me: “They are skiing” Mai: “No, they not skiing. They sledding.” Me: “No Mai, those are skis on their feet. Those are calls skis. See? They are skiing.” Mai: “No. NO they not!” They sledding.”

On art: Last week I posted about how we use foam shape cut outs to create and make pictures. We have been playing with them quite a bit. Mai asked me to make her a tractor out of the shapes. Here is what I came up with. IMG_20140706_194403538

Mai took one look at it and shook her head. “No Mama. That not a tractor.” Tractor have big wheels. She quickly removed my wheels & replaced them with her own. IMG_20140706_194438

Alright my little smarty, you got me there. That definitely looks more like a tractor.

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Little Miss No-It-All

  1. At least she is not affraid to speak her mind. I feel with mine I practice a lot of deep breathing….

  2. Times this by two and this is my life on any given day and don’t even get me started not he teenage years, lol! Seriously, Mai is adorable and the wheels did make a big difference 🙂

  3. Dan says:

    I love the video. “Right there!!!” She’s done for it. Did she ever find Idaho :)? In general, I really like your posts in which you talk about how you feel about things. They’re refreshing.

  4. runsaltrun says:

    I just laughed my way all the way through this because it sounds like my house! When I found out I was having a girl I had the same teenager fear. And then I realized that apparently that starts at 2 years old.

Leave a Reply

