The “No” Word

IMG_3036It is no mystery why our children love the word “no” so much. From as early as they start crawling, they are hearing this word muttered constantly. “No! Don’t touch that.” “No, don’t hit the dog.” “No, you can’t have cake for breakfast!” No wonder the experts tell you not to use the “no” word to reprimand your child. As much as I try, it is instinctual the first word that comes out of my mouth when my daughter is about to do something that she shouldn’t.

So, “No” it is. It is the answer to every question or statement. It is the answer even when the answer is actually yes.

“Are you Mai?”

“NO!”

Huh? That is so weird. I could have sworn that you were my daughter Mai.
There are variations on this as well. “No, not yet.” & ” No, I fine.” are two other popular responses in our home. It is amazing that I can even elicit a “No” by simply looking at her.

“No!”

“But, Mommy didn’t say anything.”

I forgot to mention that my daughter can read minds.

Sometimes the no contradicts itself…

“Do you want to go to bed?”

“No”

“Do you want to stay awake?”

“No”

Is there an option between asleep & awake? Hmmm? Let me guess…   “NO!”

 

 

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The “No” Word

  1. Was so smiling, because yes, I hear no more often then not here, too!! 🙂

  2. We should get our toddlers together so they can yell No at one another.

  3. LWilkie says:

    Your little girl is precious and your stories really take me back, bring a smile. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  4. Yes! I was alerted the “no” phase by another mom when I first became a mom. Based on her advice and warning, I have TRIED as hard as I can to say “yes” as much as possible instead of no – but it’s tough. I think it helps although toddler independence is a might force to reckon with!

  5. This is such a good reminder to hold back on the “No’s!” It really is so instinctual. Lately we have been trying to positively correct it, like instead of saying “No, don’t stand the couch” we say “lets sit instead.” It’s hard because I’m mostly making a sprint from the kitchen because my 18 month old has no fear and will attempt to learn how to fly off that couch. 😐

  6. KadSing says:

    Haha! I remember so vividly the No phase. Nothing works when they are on that NO crusade. Offering choices, positive reinforcement, consequences all out of the window! A No is a No.

  7. mammaspeaks says:

    Absolutely true! Kids learn ‘NO’ faster than ‘YES’, that has been my experience. Also, with us hurling one ‘no’ after another at them, the poor kids have no option but to learn it.

Leave a Reply

