Moments Not To Be Missed

IMG_4271

This Labor Day weekend, we took a few extra days off & went to the beach for an end of season vacation. We went with friends of ours & their two small children. We had a condo right on the beach & within walking distance of all the shops & an amusement park.

While we were there I was surprised to see how many families had their faces buried in their phones. I saw this on the beach. I saw it as we walked through the amusement park & most notably when we were out to dinner one evening. We were all talking, laughing and enjoying our time together. At the table across from us sat a woman with her three children. One child had a laptop at the table and the other 3 including the mother had their faces buried in their phones throughout their whole meal. How sad this made me. I know we are all guilty of checking our phones more than we should, but the day I cannot enjoy a vacation, a family outing or a meal with my loved ones without staring at my phone every 10 seconds, please take it out of my hand and smash it on the floor.

It upset me to see this, but I turned back to my own beautiful family and was happy that I left my phone back at the condo. Had my face been buried in a phone, I might have missed out on any number of beautiful moments that occurred over those few days.

Her first steps into that cold ocean

IMG_4113

Watching a special friendship grow

IMG_4227

Art in unexpected places. We saw this pattern left from the tide.

IMG_4005

Our first snow cone

IMG_4234

Carousel with daddy

IMG_4218

Thumbs up for the rescue trucks.

IMG_4196

And all the other family smiles…

IMG_4294

The summer might be coming to an end, but our memories will last a lifetime. I hope all of the rest of you enjoyed your holiday weekends as well.

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moments Not To Be Missed

  1. Aww, looked like the perfect weekend and I too did my best to unplug and enjoy it with the girls and Kevin, too. Now onto fall and will miss summer, but definitely have our memories here, as well 🙂

  2. Looks like you had a wonderful beach weekend! I also like your new layout 🙂

  3. I am occasionally guilty of being glued to my phone, but I’ve been trying super hard to leave it in my bag or in my pocket. I’ve not regretted it once!

Leave a comment