Teenage Angst At Age 2?

IMG_5234Do not judge me for what I am about to say. It may sound horrible, but when I was pregnant, before finding out the sex of our daughter, I really wanted to have a boy. I did. I am sorry. Of course I knew that I would be happy & love my child no matter what. I knew the only thing that mattered was that he or she was healthy, but my hope still was that we would hear at our 20 week old ultrasound, “It’s a boy.” When my daughter arrived, I was smitten immediately and felt guilty for my original thought. I couldn’t have been happier .

Having grown up with a sister, I watched, participated & often led in the drama & conflict that ensued with our mother on a daily basis. The truth is I was afraid of my payback. Karma was going to get me on this one. I could hear my mother’s voice muttering the words, “Someday, I hope that you have a daughter & she treats you like you treat me.”

My mother must already be having herself a good chuckle from heaven, because my toddler is already jam packed with drama. She reminds me every bit of the surly teenager that I once was.

I certainly never thought that arguments over clothing choices & what shoes to wear were going to begin at 2. The fights are not over the length of her skirt just yet. What they are about is whether or not she can wear shorts when it is 50 degrees outside or that she doesn’t like the pink corduroys that seconds earlier she had just asked to wear. The other day, she asked me where her bra was. What?? “Honey, you are too young for a bra.” “I am growing bigger, Mama.” was her response. Oh boy!

“I can do it myself!”are words that I hear daily. Every attempt that I make to assist my daughter with anything from pouring her a cup of juice to putting her in her car seat are thwarted.

Tempers flare on a regular basis and end in tantrums so vicious that I almost turn numb. I am frightened because I find myself not knowing if I am handling these situations properly. If I mess up now, how will it affect her later in life? I feel inadequate to deal with this. I have tried to give her room to flex her independence and remain firm while she tests her limits. Guilt sets in as she meltdowns. Frustration slowly creeps in as well. My mother’s words come back to haunt me. The thought of losing that unconditional love that she has for me right now breaks my heart. It is hard to believe that someday the sweet sounds of her “I love yous” might turn into angry cries of disdain.  With each new stage bring new challenges. I just hope I am ready to handle them all.

 

 

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Teenage Angst At Age 2?

  1. mumofchaos3 says:

    I can empathise with so much of this!

  2. You know I totally get this with Lily and her munchkin drama alone, but still I cannot believe that we are dealing with this at such a young age and my mother I am sure is loving it though, because I was definitely a handful as a teenager myself! 😉

  3. It’s not just girls believe me! We don’t have horrendous tantrums yet but just this morning he was insistent that he wouldn’t wear his raincoat! He had to have his cardigan on! He’s also insistent that he can run as fast as he wants to – this morning he fell over 3 times outside – two resulting in lots of tears but still tearing along at speed! I’m hoping we don’t get to the serious tantrums but I know we probably will!

  4. Oh my god, I could have written this! Right there with you my friend! X

  5. Mine likes to find a bra, put it on her head and declare “Pretty HAT!”

    Also haven’t reached the ‘myself’ stage quite yet. I’m sure its coming. Right now it just demands at the top of her lungs and I’m constantly saying ‘how do we ask nicely?’. She was in her highchair for 10 minutes screaming yesterday before she finally broke down and said “out, please?”.

    She’s also told me I’m a ‘bad mommy’ more than once after I had to tell her she couldn’t do something fun (i.e. dangerous or disgusting). “In this house we do not put forks into the electrical outlet!” “WHAHHA! BAD MOMMY!” I NO LUB (love) MOMMY!” Same reaction to “In this house we do not use the broom as a baseball bat” and “In this house, we do not Climb bookshelves” and “In this house, we do not eat yogourt with our toothbrush and then put the toothbrush up our nose!”

  6. Sasha says:

    Well, if it makes you feel any better, my son is almost as picky as daughter when it comes to his clothing options!! 🙂

    Definitely more drama on the girl side, but still, he knows how to throw it down!! 😉

  7. You have to love her independent streak! My two boys had their own tantrums about clothing – we went through a “I will NEVER wear jeans!” phase for a few months which was quickly replaced by “I will NEVER wear socks!” It’s funny to me now but then – I thought I must be doing something, ok, everything wrong. Hang in there you will soon enter a phase when they are just so sweet – and then they become teens. 🙂

  8. Marla says:

    I’m so sorry! It is so hard to feel at peace with decisions I make with my boy and the tantrums are just beginning! These tantrums and opinions do come very early!

  9. They are testing out your limits at around that age so it is like mini teenage angst, it’s true. She is so adorable though!

  10. kristibusque says:

    This reminds me of my three year old. She’s a mini-me in so many ways. I’m doomed.

  11. Tricia says:

    I hear you! 2 year-olds can be like tiny tyrants. I just keep telling myself that these tough characteristics (opinionated, independent, strong-willed) will eventually be good things in an adult… right??

Leave a Reply

