A Letter To My Mother

IMG_5542

October is breast cancer awareness month. This month I am flooded with thoughts of my mother. It has been almost 9 years since her passing, but I still think of her always. This post is for her…

Sometimes you come to me while I’m asleep. In my dreams, you have never left.
You are still beautiful with skin so flawless that even a teenage girl would be envious.
There is no cancer coursing through your veins. There is only you.
When I see you, I know that something isn’t right. I know that you should not be here. Sometimes we argue as we often did. I know that we shouldn’t, but I don’t understand why. When I wake, I am angry, angry at myself for fighting. I would have never fought you had I known that in the morning you would not be there.

One dream was just a phone call. We were talking about the weather or some other mundane topic when it suddenly hits me.

“Mama, you died.”

“No Kimmie, I still here.” you replied.

Your broken English & thick Vietnamese accent are a sound that my ears have missed. They make me smile. When I tell stories of you, I mimic this accent, not out of disrespect, but because it is how I remember you.

Your picture hangs in every room in our home. You watch over your granddaughter as she sleeps. I think that you must visit her as well, because she seems to know you even though you have never met.

If we could speak again, I would tell you how sorry I was for every hurtful thing that I ever said or did. I would explain how I now realize that what I always mistook for nagging was actually just love. I understand now because I am a mother like you. I am overprotective and fearful, just as you were with me. I would ask you for your guidance, because even though I am a woman of 40, I still need my mama. I need your advice, so that I can be as good of a mother as you were to me. Most of all I would tell you how much I love you.  So come for visit again soon, we have a lot to talk about. I will see you in my dreams.

537189_4791116829092_286082386_n
October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Remember to get your mammograms & check yourself regularly. I have my annual check-up next week, don’t forget to schedule yours. Your family will thank you for it.

IMG_5530

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Letter To My Mother

  1. Aww, beautiful tribute to your mom and I truly can only imagine what you are feeling. I still have my mom, but we lost my mom’s parents who were my grandparents but also my second parents. Not a day goes by that I don’t think of them and miss them so. Like you I can only hope to get a glimpse of them in a dream until we meet again many years from now. Hugs and thinking of you today.

  2. Joy says:

    Beautiful! I miss your mom too. Amazing job on the pumpkin 🙂

Leave a Reply

