The Day I Tried To Clean

IMG_4823When we were expecting our daughter, I looked through hundreds of patterns & themes for a little girl’s nursery. I could not wait to decorate her room & make it beautiful. I was so excited to assemble her crib and swing and set up her play areas. When we were finished, everything was perfect. Our house felt complete.

Little did I know that these things would continue to accumulate and that our home would no longer resemble one inhabited by adults. Under a mountain of toys, books & stuffed animals is a floor that was once free of crumbs, dried up Play-doh chunks and puzzle pieces.

I must be honest, since our daughter’s birth I have not kept the tidiest of homes. I lack the time, ambition & energy to do it. I have grown accustomed to the mess, but every once in a while the disorganization makes me crazy. Today was one of those days. My husband & daughter went out for the day, so I thought it was time for a much needed cleaning. I dusted & scrubbed, swept, organized, sprayed & wiped. I sat back to admire my work. How amazing. It has been a long time since I could see the top off my coffee table.

When my family arrived back home, I couldn’t wait to show them our tidy home. My excitement quickly diminished as I watched my home revert back to it’s original cluttered form within moments. Now I remember another reason why I don’t clean. God bless our happy mess.

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Day I Tried To Clean

  1. Boeta says:

    I had to laugh in the beginning, for I knew the end. I try and keep it together by having places more or less for collective heaps, tent for soft toys, bins for various other types, pool for the balls. Pick them up at least 3 times per day. He is learning and helps now, for 5 minutes, then he takes them out again. Ha ha

  2. I totally have those days, too and will just finally get up the ambition to clean and toss out too. Good job mama!! 😉

  3. What’s the saying. .. “cleaning a house full of kids is like brushing your teeth with oreos!”

  4. Oh I feel ya mama!! I’ve been working on reducing the non-toddler related clutter in my home, which has helped a little, but only a little. You would think weekends when my husband is home would be easier, but he’s like a giant toddler who makes an appropriately sized mess.

  5. VCrayon says:

    I liked that brushing your teeth with oreos comment… The one I grew up with was “cleaning the house while the kids are at home, is like cleaning the kitchen, while the blender is going without the lid”.

Leave a Reply

