What A Mommy And Her Dog Have In Common

1918531_1323088570553_8189604_n

Before our daughter was born, it was just me, my husband and our dog Duke. Duke was our first baby. We cuddled him, took him for walks, played ball with him & bought him toys every chance we could.  Life was good for our furry boy. Once our daughter was born, life changed dramatically for all of us. Duke received less attention & got scolded more often. This morning I watched our pup anxiously waiting outside of his little sister’s room. He laid on the floor patiently. His ears would perk up when he heard her stir & he whimpered until I opened the door. Even with all the harassment and abuse she puts him through, he still cannot wait to see her in the morning. He & I have that in common. Even how exhausting or frustrating of an evening I had with her the night before. I still cannot wait to see her face in the morning.

I came to the realization that there are many things that Duke and I actually have in common when it comes to our little monster…

Barking at her: There are days that our pup gets pushed to the limit, you would too if you had someone pulling your tail & trying to stick things in your ears.  Lord knows I try to remain calm & level headed, but even the most patient of mothers or dogs can lose their cool when dealing with a cranky toddler.

Eating her leftovers: Being a mother is like being a human garbage disposal. I have involuntarily been fed a half of a soggy bagel with a sprinkle of snot on it many times. Luckily, Duke does not mind a little bit of snot & drool in his food. I think he actually prefers it.

Sniffing her butt: My dog must get very confused when I scold him. He has watched me do this now for close to 3 years. If only he could help change her diapers.

Playing horsey: Our daughter loves to pretend that she is Sheriff Callie & the good sheriff doesn’t go anywhere without her loyal steed Sparky. I often let her play horsey with mommy. Duke does not so willingly saddle up, but he is a good sport.

Clean up her messes: Spilled milk, smashed banana & random crumbs are just some of the messes that wind up on our floor. Duke has saved me a paper towel many a time. Our methods may be different, but our results are the same.

Knocking her over: When our daughter first started walking I was so scared of our dog knocking her down. He is so energetic and always running around and jumping. I would get so angry with him for rushing past her and knocking her on her bottom, but the truth is I have knocked her over, hit her in the head with the door and inflicted many other unintentional injuries on my daughter. Maybe the dog should be yelling at me.

Overprotective: I took a Facebook quiz recently. It told me that I was a helicopter parent. There was no surprise there. I am extremely over protective of my precious little one. If I am a helicopter mom, then our pup is a helicopter dog. When UPS man comes to the door or if he hears a noise, his first instinct is to run to her side to guard her.

There is one more thing that we have in common, we both love her. No matter what the day brings or how difficult she might have been, we both can’t wait until the next time that we can be with her again.

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What A Mommy And Her Dog Have In Common

  1. Yup, Elsa and Duke have quite a bit in common. No matter how much abuse they take from our girls they keep coming back for more!! 😉

    • It surprises me sometimes. She terrorizes him, but every morning he waits outside of her door anxious for her to wait. I do the same thing. I can’t wait til she goes to sleep, but then can’t wait til morning.

  2. that’s adorable that dogs can take so much from babies and still love them just as much. My dog Sammie use to love kids all around her unless they were near her food…but other than that, she was a sweetheart.

  3. Tricia says:

    Great post. 🙂 “Sniffing butts” made me laugh. Sometimes people give me a strange look when I say that I spend a lot of time sniffing butts. Maybe I should stop saying that to non-parents…

  4. I think so many can relate to this post, I know I can. We had a dog before kids and he was definitely our first baby. We had him for 11 years and we had to say good-bye when my daughter turned 2. He lived a great long life of 11 years and even tho he’s been gone for about 2 years we still miss him terribly. I laughed reading your post especially the part about Duke picking up the crumbs from the floor! I totally miss our dog licking up the crumbs as it saved me running the vacuum!! cute post!

Leave a Reply

