Enjoying The Silence, But Missing The Noise

IMG_5789

Everybody has heard of the terrible twos. We have all been forewarned about this stage in childhood. Our daughter was such a colicky infant that when she turned two I thought that it was going to be a breeze. It turns out that two is not as terrible as everyone says. In fact it is much much worse.

The past few months have been difficult. She has grown so much physically & mentally. She has acquired her own tastes & opinions and she is not afraid to be vocal about them. She talks non-stop now. My mind can barely contain all of the information. Every day is a battle. Every day brings a freshย set of challenges. There are days that I don’t know if I will be able to make it to her bedtime. I sit down & take deep breaths before tackling another meltdown, but it is hard to clear your head when there is never any silence.

Last week my husband took our daughter for the day. I had our home to myself for longer than I think I have since she was born. I cleaned the house, I relaxed, I watched Netflix & I enjoyed our quiet house. The thing is once the silence was there, I missed the noise. True, there were no meltdowns or sounds of screaming objections, but there was also no laughter, no sweet little voice singing Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. There were no tears to wipe away or noses that needed blowing, but that also meant that there were no comforting hugs or snotty nose kisses. Although it was nice to have the couch to myself, I could not wait to cuddle with my family again.

Some days are hard. Some days I want to pull out my hair until I am bald, but mixed in with all the tough times are the moments that make it all worth it. The day will come when our little one will grow up and leave the nest, until then I will embrace the chaos and the madness because once it is gone I will want it back.

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Enjoying The Silence, But Missing The Noise

  1. aviets says:

    You’re definitely right, and good for you for realizing it. When you know what you’ll be missing you appreciate what you have. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Someday it (the mess.. the noise… the QUESTIONS) will be gone but so will the ones I love!

    I have to remind myself of this when I get… well… mad at them for being kids!!!

  3. Trust me when I say that I know as much as I complain during the crazy times, I wouldn’t trade a moment of it either ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. I’m right there with ya’, Mama! I always tell my husband that I need a break, but even if that break only lasts 30 minutes I can’t wait to get back to the kids. They’re always on my mind. Thanks for this post…it’s a great reminder. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Momarch Steph says:

    Yeah, I can totally relate to that too! Though it rarely happens, I miss my son dearly when he’s gone. Of course, these days when my 2 year old is gone, I’m still stuck with my infant so my house still isn’t qiuet, though… ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

