Christmas Card Photo Outtakes

IMG_6425

 

If you have been to any retail or grocery store lately, you know that the Christmas season has already hit. Some complain that it is too early, that Thanksgiving isn’t even here yet. It is true that it does seem as if Christmas comes earlier and earlier every year, but in our busy times, I for one don’t mind having an extra few weeks to plan my holidays.

I have taken our daughter’s Christmas photos every year since her birth. The past two years were a challenge. I was hoping that this year would go more smoothly.

I had it all planned out that this weekend would be our photo shoot. I wanted to give myself plenty of time to design our cards, order them & address them. I usually mail them out the day after Thanksgiving, so it was time to get going. I set up our backdrop on our chair & 1/2. I hung a blue blanket up & then put down some pillows & layered them with a white blanket & a sheet of cotton snow. We topped it all off with some felt snowflakes. We were ready.

IMG_6288

Getting our daughter into her Christmas dress was a more challenging endeavor. It took some convincing and a little bit of time, but she eventually agreed to put on her Christmas gear in exchange for playing in the fake snow and a piece of Halloween chocolate.

If you have ever tried to photograph a toddler, you know that it is no easy feat. It is nearly impossible to get them to sit still, look at the camera, smile and do all of these simultaneously. It requires some goofy antics, a quick shutter finger, bribery and a boatload of patience to get those perfect photos. It also requires taking a ton of photos. They can’t all be winners. Since I do not want to release my keepers until our Christmas cards come out, here are some of the ones that did not make the cut.

IMG_6425

Say cheese!

Didn't you say something about chocolate?

Didn’t you say something about chocolate?

Practicing for her surly teenage years.

Practicing for her surly teenage years.

Ahahaha! Mommy thinks I am going to sit still for these pictures.

Ahahaha! Mommy thinks I am going to sit still for these pictures.

What do you mean 'Home Alone' isn't on TV yet?

What do you mean ‘Home Alone’ isn’t on TV yet?

My face is going numb from smiling.

My face is going numb from smiling.

Make sure you get me from my best side.

Make sure you get me from my best side.

Seriously mom, no more pictures.

Seriously mom, no more pictures.

You can keep taking pictures, I am going to take a nap.

You can keep taking pictures, I am going to take a nap.

All in all, we had a successful shoot. We got some amazing shots. I am very excited to get out our Christmas cards this year. Stay tuned to see the finished product in a few weeks.

These didn’t make it on to the cards either, but here are a couple of cute outtakes.

IMG_6343IMG_6295

 

 

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Holidays, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Card Photo Outtakes

  1. First of all, Mai is just too cute for words, but I know this feeling well and last year was the first year that the girls both at the same time cooperated, but still this year we had some family photos taken in the summertime by a professional photographer and am thinking of just using the family photo, so I can do the Christmas ones at my leisure with less stress to be honest.

  2. Sasha says:

    Haha, I love it!! We always have ten outtakes for every good shot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

