Tissue Box Christmas Chimney Craft

IMG_6681

Up on the housetop, click, click, click
Down through the chimney with good Saint Nick…

When I was a child my grandmother used to have a wonderful Christmas record of children singing. This was my favorite carol on the album. I have gotten into the holiday spirit a little bit early & have started singing Christmas carols around our house & even at work. Not everyone appreciates my caroling, but Mai loves mommy’s songs. I think this one is going to be a favorite of hers too.

My husband is obsessed with tissues. We literally have a box of tissues in every single room in our house. Some rooms have multiple boxes. I have been wanting to do something with our empty boxes for some time. Luckily, all my caroling had me inspired.

Tissue Box Chimney Craft

What you will need:

An empty tissue box

Red & black paint

Cotton balls

Glue

2 Empty toilet paper rolls or 1 paper towel roll cut in two

Black construction paper or a black foam sheet

Directions:

Paint your tissue box with the red paint & let it dry. Mai wanted more than one color. She had a multi-colored chimney, but it still came out great.

IMG_6662 IMG_6663

Using black paint, line all 4 sides of the tissue box to make the look of brick. Depending on your children’s ability you may need to help with this part.

IMG_6664 IMG_6669

Paint 2 toilet paper rolls or 1 paper towel roll cut into 2 pieces in red. Paint 1/4 of one end of each piece in black. Let the paint dry.

IMG_6661 IMG_6671                                                                 IMG_6672

Using glue, apply stretched out cotton balls to form snow. Leave the opening of the box uncovered.

IMG_6667 IMG_6668

IMG_6670

Cut ovals out of construction paper or foam for the bottom of the boots

IMG_6673

Glue the oval shape to the black side of the roll.

IMG_6676

IMG_6674

Add more cotton around the top edge of the black to form fur on the boot.

IMG_6675

Let the glue dry & then tuck both Santa legs into the tissue box opening with the legs sticking up.

Here is Mai’s creation…

IMG_6683

And mommy’s too…

IMG_6681

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Arts and Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tissue Box Christmas Chimney Craft

  1. So very cute and love that this Christmas craft is easy enough for Mai to help with 😉

  2. I LOVE this! Wouldn’t ya know I had been saving a few empty boxes of Tissues and just 2 days ago threw them out, blah!! Well, we’ll have more soon and this is a definite make for us! Adorable and clever!!

Leave a Reply

