Helpless On The Floor

wpid-wp-1416464028909.jpeg

I lie sleepless on a pile of blankets on the floor. I stroke the small blond hairs off the feverish head of my daughter as she lets out soft whimpers in her sleep. There is no bed for either of us tonight. The bed has turned scary. The security that was once her owl blanket now tumbles in the washing machine along with her puke covered sheets and clothing.

Her bed has fresh new sheets, but still she chooses the floor. My body acts as a mattress. Thirty pounds lies on top of my full bladder, but my bladder will have to wait. This is the most comfort my daughter has had all evening and I won’t risk disturbing it.
Our child can’t catch a break. It has been sickness after sickness ever since the cold weather hit.

My helplessness takes a brief reprieve until she wakes crying again. I try to prepare myself for the next round of coughing and tears, but I am too exhausted to think.
The night has not been our friend. The worst of it always comes in the evening. Let’s hope the morning is kinder.

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Helpless On The Floor

  1. I know you just read my post and sadly I can so relate to all of the above. I truly hope Mai is feeling better very soon and you get some rest again, too.

  2. Marla says:

    Oh, these sleepless, achy, uncomfortable nights are in my opinion some of the longest moments of motherhood. When my boy is sick I start to dread the night. I so hope that Mai starts feeling better and that you both can sleep in beds soon 🙂

  3. Sending healthy thoughts your way. Feel better…and go pee!

  4. Oh and I also wanted to say, I’ve been there too and there’s nothing worse than a sick baby…feel better Mai!

  5. kerihanson says:

    It’s so hard when they get sick! Hope she is better soon!

  6. Oh, I do hope morning was kinder to both of you. Moments like that are hard, emotionally and physically.

Leave a Reply

