Just Stay Awake Until We Get Home

IMG_20140927_130830191_HDR

My darling girl,

During the week I live with a lot of mommy guilt. After coming home from a long day at work, I am drained. I have very little time or energy to spend with you. I do my best, but I know that often I fall short.

When the weekend comes it is our time. In an attempt to make up for the time that we lose during the week, I try to pack our days with fun activities and outings. I love our fun days together. I look forward to them all week, but after our fun is over there still is the ride home. I know that you are tired. I know that you probably want to sleep, but mommy has a favor to ask of you. Just stay awake until we get home.

I try all the tricks. I talk to you & sing songs. I am loud. I am obnoxious, even more so than usual. I try to start up a game of eye spy & point out every single thing that I see as if it is the most exciting thing that I have ever laid my eyes on. “Baby, did you see that garbage can? Wooooowwwww! That’s a nice one.” In desperation, I even break out the fruit snacks to keep you awake. Alas, eventually regardless of all my hard work, the thumb finds its way into your mouth, your eyes close and you drift off.

It’s not your fault really. I don’t think you understand. Nap time is essential to your mother’s sanity. When you nap, I nap too. I get chores done if I can muster up the energy. I catch up on all of the things that I put off during the week. It is not as if I don’t enjoy sitting in a parked car in our driveway while you nap. I keep a book in the glove box just for these occasions, but I haven’t taken a shower yet today & I would love to get just one in this weekend. Thanks baby! Love your mom

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Just Stay Awake Until We Get Home

  1. Such a sweet note and I admit I miss nap time here more then you know. I used to get so much done during that time to be honest, but still love our weekends now, too 🙂

    • I know that my days of napping are numbered. I’m trying to take advantage of every last second of napping that I can. It is truly the only time that I can get things accomplished because when she’s awake it’s mommy and Mai time. We live out in the boonies so to get anywhere takes at least half an hour. I do everything and anything to try to keep her awake and entertained until we get home.

  2. Carl Okuyama says:

    Now comes the “Planting Twos” not the “Terrible Twos”.. It a time where children learn at genius speeds. Enjoy your shower… your a good mom. http://startsathome.org/2012/06/09/it%E2%80%99s-not-the-terrible-twos-it%E2%80%99s-the-planting-twos/

    • Thank you. Oh our daughter is almost 3 and as i biased mother I can tell you that she is brilliant. They really do learn so much in this year. It is fascinating to watch and see. Thanks for sharing. I will head over to your post right now. 🙂

      • Carl Okuyama says:

        The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree; she’s brilliant! Keep up your good work; you and your husband’s patience will be your gift. Consider teaching attention span, curiosity, sharing and giving. Have fun and watch the flower bloom!

  3. Thank you so much for your encouragement. 🙂

  4. I had exactly the same “problem” as what you described above, until a friend of mine poked me (she’s honest and I’m now very happy with it, but you can imagine how unhappy I was when she said this): “You’re spoiling your daughter. She’s a toddler now, not a baby anymore. Plus she is a clever little girl. Show her that mommy has to shower too, and washes the dishes, and does other stuff a normal family will do on a daily base. Let her play independently for 10 minutes or so, tell her you have to do something (specify) and you will come to play with her after that.”
    And you know what: it all works!! I’m quite surprised myself, but my daughter cooperates much more than I ever hoped for! So, sorry for my rumbles and I really don’t mean anything except sharing my experience. I enjoy following your blog so much, you’re a great mom. Hopefully you enjoy your days with less guilt and more quality time with your lovely family. 🙂

    • Thank you. I guess I do spoil her to an extent. I have such little time with her during the week that I feel that my time is best spent with her on the weekends. I won’t shower though when it is just the 2 of us because she is a curious one, LOL! I never know what she will get into too. The nap time is really just a much needed down time for me. That hour or so of quite just helps to recharge mommy’s batteries. 🙂

      • I can understand you completely. My “problem” is slightly different with her running around nonstop from the time she opens her eyes till bedtime…oh how I miss nap time so badly! And believe me, I’ve witnessed the most frustrating and craziest thing (but also funny, creative and adorable!) when she’s being alone, even for only a few minutes! You will never know with such a curious spirit… 😉

  5. yes, yes, yes! To all of this.

Leave a Reply

