The Christmas Aftermath

IMG_8479This has been a wonderful holiday season. I don’t believe that I have ever enjoyed the holidays as much as I did this year. Celebrating Christmas with a child adds a whole new dimension of joy to an already joyous occasion. Watching our little girl’s face light up whenever she saw the twinkling lights, listening to her sing Christmas carols & hearing her squeal as she tore the wrapping paper off of her presents were all the gifts I could have ever asked for. It was indeed a Merry Christmas.

IMG_8435 IMG_8426 IMG_8461

Of course now Christmas is over & with all of that happiness and joy comes the holiday aftermath. A pile-up of Amazon boxes and paper sit crowding the corner of our kitchen ready to create an avalanche of recyclables if someone sneezes in their direction. All of our unwrapped Christmas gifts sit under the Christmas tree waiting to be assigned a home while we clear out all of our old toys & books to make way for the new arrivals. A pile of Christmas cards will sit on our kitchen island as I struggle with an internal battle over whether to keep all of them or add them to our pile of recyclables. A list of names of people we have to send thank you cards to is lost among all of the chaos. Remind me to send so & so a thank you card to thank them for their thank you card.

IMG_8480

Today, as I watch my daughter roll around on a blanket on the floor, perfectly content with pretending that she is a piglet in a mud puddle, I wonder to myself again just why did we buy so many things? Other than an Elsa dress & a princess tea party set that she received from her aunties, she really hasn’t paid much mind to any of her other gifts after the initial excitement wore off.

IMG_8468

Last night as I sat on the floor building cabins with Lincoln Logs while my husband ground up ice with Snoopy’s Snow Cone Maker, we realized something. Many of these toys and gadgets that we bought our daughter were childhood toys that we wanted as children. Were we actually reliving our childhood vicariously through our child? I think maybe so. Next year we will just buy the toys for each other, but we will still let Mai open them.

Happy holiday clean up to all!.

IMG_8481

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Christmas Aftermath

  1. April says:

    I was actually able to clean up last night and you can’t even tell it today! all those toys got thrown back onto my living room floor and dining room table! ( That one is for the toys that big sister’s do not want little brother to reach)

  2. Been pretty much cleaning up all day here and then wrote a blog article for next week. So, I guess Christmas is truly over and the cleanup indeed has occurred for many of us, both of us included. Glad it was a great one and pretty much was here, as well – so thankful for small favors 🙂

  3. Liz A says:

    We have bonfire started on christmas eve which lasted until dawn so all the wrapping paper and boxes go straight to the bonfire. Less cleaning to do the day after Christmas… 😀

  4. freebutfun says:

    Ooooh, I know someone who’d love the Elsa dress!

  5. My little princess got that Elsa dress too!

Leave a Reply

