Hello, My Name Is Mommy

1551524_10202125009560004_1508731400_n (1)
Once upon a time I was a me. I was an I. I referred to myself in the 1st person & not in the 3rd. Somewhere along the way I decided that I had no need for pronouns. “I have to go to work.” became “Mommy has to go to work.”  It is not “I am tired. It is “Mommy is tired.” Why do I do this? Perhaps once I did it so that my daughter would learn that I was her mommy, but I think that we pretty much have established that. Besides, this started before she was even born. Our dog was on the other end of my 3rd person rantings long ago. “Mommy loves you, Dukey.” “Are you Mommy’s good boy? “As his head tilted off to the side, I imagine he was thinking “This poor woman actually thinks she is my mother. How do I break it to her that I am a dog?”

232323232-fp83232-uqcshlukaxroqdfv43;;=ot-244;=;44=--8=XROQDF-2;86;35463245ot1lsi

I hear myself doing this in public. “Mommy just has to get a few groceries & then we can go home.” I can almost feel passers-by rolling their eyes at me. I have even begun to annoy myself. Just say I. You can do it. Use it in a sentence. “I just have to get a few groceries & then we can go.” I did it. Phew. “Ok, come with mommy to get some milk.” DAMN IT!

Recently during a play date, one of Mai’s friends accidentally knocked her down. She was terribly upset by this. “Say sorry. Say sorry to Mai.” she said. What a silly girl. Where ever could she have learned this? I need to teach that girl her pronouns.

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hello, My Name Is Mommy

  1. Yup, I still find myself doing this with both the girls and our dog, too. Like you when did I lose my use of pronouns?!! 😉

  2. I catch myself doing this sometimes. I really try not to, but it slips out. Especially with the dog.

  3. shoes says:

    Ah yes – I find myself doing this more often than I would like too. 🙂

  4. I do it all the time too! Zach refers to himself as Zachary but has started saying I every now and then too! It’s funny how it’s just something we automatically take on when we become mummies!!

Leave a Reply

