You Listen Like Your Father

  • tumblr_m6k916xmJY1qaywqbo1_500
    Hello? Hello? Hello?♫
    Is there anybody in there?
    Just nod if you can hear me.
    Is there anyone at home? ♫
                                            Pink Floyd

She has her father’s eyes. They share the same award winning smile & that one perfect dimple that melts my heart. They both love popcorn, Doritos & think that farts are funny. One other trait that they share is their uncanny ability to tune me right out.

“Mai, pick up your toys.”

Crickets chirp

“Mai, did you hear mama?”

Chirp chirp, chirp chirp

I know she gets this from my husband. He does not tune me out intentionally. Perhaps I am actually a mute. Maybe, my house has some kind of voice sucking force field around it & I am the only one affected.

“Honey, I laid out clothes for Mai. There is a pink dress & leggings on her chair in her room.”

Several minutes pass…

“What should I dress Mai in today?”

“I just told you about 5 minutes ago.”

“I’m sorry, what?”

Hello? Can anyone hear me? Pink Floyd’s lyrics somehow haunt me all day long.

Your lips move but I can’t hear what you’re saying. ♫

I have invested minutes into stories before realizing that he had not heard a word that I had just spoken to him.

“Did you hear me? What did I just say?”

“Something about toilet paper???”

d439c4838ff23413bb69453fb78fa5d3

If the game is on TV, I do not stand a chance. Perhaps if I did a naked headstand in front of the telly while telling knock knock jokes, I might get a response.
“Honey, could you put your feet down. The Patriots have the ball.”

“Knock Knock”

Nobody’s there..

Recently we were out to dinner & he was watching football over my shoulder as I was talking. I asked him..

“Are you really watching the game rather than looking at me?”

“I can’t look at you. Your beauty is intoxicating & I have to drive home.”

He does have a good point there. How can I argue with that logic?

1555570_10202125019120243_2047249848_n

About The Pinterested Parent

I am loving wife to my best friend & mommy to our smarty pants little girl, who loves to learn, craft & play. I am an artist, a crafter & I am Pinterest addict. When I first started my blog it was meant to be an outlet for my Pinterest addiction. I was looking to inspire & be inspired. What it became was a wonderful journey for me & my daughter in which we chronicle our activities, crafts, lessons & a hefty slice of our life. Please join us as we navigate through this wonderful thing called motherhood.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to You Listen Like Your Father

  1. I think our husbands and our kids, too would get along perfectly as neither of mine listen to me either and then usually come up with some humorous way of dealing with it, as well 🙂

  2. Paul says:

    I`m afraid I have fallen into this habit at a very early stage, maybe me being daddy daycare for the developmental 6-9 months was not such a good idea, although we did talk about this as a concern beforehand, I think we did anyway, was not really listening.. 🙂

  3. Robin (Masshole Mommy) says:

    I always say that no one listens to me and it’s true. It goes in one ear and out the other.

  4. Andrew says:

    Aaaah, that last line.. I’ll have to remember that!!! #Genius haha 😀

  5. Kungphoo says:

    My wife feels i never listen.. but i really do, i just forget things.. lol

  6. crysta911 says:

    My husband does that but he can actually repeat back what I said.

  7. Megan Elford says:

    I love his line about your beauty being intoxicating! I’ve resorted to saying things like “I need to tell you something and you need to listen, okay?” just to make sure my husband is hearing what I’m saying. The other night I actually (sincerely) apologized for not shortening my story to a soundbite! That’s what we call our current method of communication — soundbiting, lol!

  8. LOL! I shared that card on “Sure I’ll have a beer” on my husbands FB wall years ago! I loved it and your post as it speaks volumes. Thanks for the smile 🙂

  9. Too funny! It is usually the other way around here- I am usually the one who has my head stuck in my computer…thanks for sharing!

  10. maggiesblog2 says:

    Ha! Your husband and my husband must be related! Too funny!

  11. MommyPehpot says:

    That’s a great excuse for not looking at you! hahahaha

    my husband is not great on listening too! haha

    • Mrs. Jilly Fisher says:

      lol Men are hilarious. I sometimes do the same thing. I am deep in thought and my husband is rambling and I zone out. It is a bad habit. I once sent the first pic to my husband and we just laughed. We know are both guilty of it at times.

  12. That was cute and I know, they just don’t listen!

  13. Liz Mays says:

    This is hilarious and entirely true. It’s certainly universal of men! Drives us all batty too!

  14. Debi says:

    That is so true. And my kids listen the same way my hubby does.

  15. eliz frank says:

    Oh your hubby is so smart! 💖 I couldn’t stop laughing over that last exchange. Who could argue with such a comeback? Haha! 🙂

  16. I thought this only happened to me! No one listens to me in this house haha.

Leave a Reply

